We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food...great service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 29 South Eats

29 South Eats
29 S 3rd St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
(904) 277-7919
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
29 South Eats is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ash
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food...great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

My husband LOVED the honey fried chicken! The crab cake was small but yummy! Daily special was tilefish. Quite good. Overall, nice dining experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    168
    60
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Overall Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

My wife and I visited Fernandina Beach last weekend and had a meal at 29 South Eats after reading various reviews on local restaurants. Before the meal was over, we both agreed that we it was one of the most pleasant culinary experiences we'd ever had. The service was wonderful (our server's name was Ian), the food was simple but adventurous, nuanced, and balanced, and the ambiance was classy and comfortable. We had the sea bass over curried mussels and the foie burger and both were excellent. Our server seemed to read our minds, from his wine recommendation to his timing in placing our dessert orders.

We'll definitely be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pineville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Did not make a good impression”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We walked into 29 South this past week, and had a not so pleasant welcome. We must have gotten there at 9:15 pm, and the hostess greeted us, and then immediately followed with "out kitchen will be closing in 15 minutes". I was surprised and wasn't sure how to respond, so I tried to politely ask, "are you saying you don't want us to eat here?" The hostess must have realized how abrupt and rude she sounded, because she tried to back track out of it. However, in the next breath she said it again, "the kitchen will be closing in 15 minutes." I get that walking into a restaurant late is risky, but I think a greeter should greet and welcome its guests first, and if it becomes necessary to prod the guests along, do it politely later on. For the amount of money a meal costs at 29 South, the feeling of being rushed through some allotted number of minutes wouldn't be worth it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Funky place in Fernandina Beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Went to the place on Thursday night - very busy - you must make reservations as stated in other reviews. We did have them and so were greeted and seated right away. Host and servers all very good - efficient and friendly. The food was good - not great - except for the coffee and doughnuts dessert which was amazing. A worthwhile stop - just don't go with unrealistic expectations.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Fl
1 review
“Terrible service and average food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

It took 20 minutes for someone to take our drink order and then another 20 minutes before someone came back to take our food order. One and a half hours later our food is served, but one entree was dropped on the way and another was not as ordered. The server was rude and just kept complaining she had another big party to attend to. This restaurant was very disappointing.....

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 29 South Eats also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to 29 South Eats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 29 South Eats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.