We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 29 South Eats

29 South Eats
29 S 3rd St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
(904) 277-7919
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
29 South Eats is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ash
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

My wife and I had a terrible experience at another restaurant near our hotel, "Sliders". This was a refreshing experience. Food was great! One of the best steaks I have ever had. Service was a tad slow, but we are on vacation, and had no real schedule! I will return and recommend to other friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    168
    60
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Reservation mix up”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I made a reservation by phone on the day. On arrival we were shown to the cold, dark and empty veranda. Aparantly they were full inside and they apologised if we had not been told that the "reservation" was for outside. We walked away.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Non-pretentious fabulous food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

From foie gras hamburger to scallops to huge pile of mussels to steak with bacon purée....holy moley, we are all stuffed. Even my picky teenage daughter admiited that if we had food like this at home she would never skip a meal--now that's saying something. Prices reasonable, atmosphere relatively sedate and one block off main drag. Heck yeah, you gotta go there to eat !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goshen CT
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Terrific sophisticated food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Tried opentable for a Friday night reservation but it appeared they were full. Called them to see about a wait list and found that outdoor tables are not listed on opentable and were still available. So we bundled up and enjoyed a first rate meal on their patio watching a beautiful sunset.

Much of 29 South's produce comes from their backyard garden only steps away. Braised escarole salad was wonderful. Scallops were cooked to perfection. Good wine selection. Prices were reasonable.

What a welcome change to find real cuisine instead of the routine tourist type fried fish and grits (or pasta) offered at so many other places in town.

We plan to return often.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“Delicious Food-Wonderful Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This was our second visit to 29 South Eats. The food is outstanding! We recommend the Souther BBQ Cobb Salad, Smokehouse Mussels and the Fried Shrimp & Grits! Also, we ate on the patio both times and it was very charming and romantic. Staff has been really friendly and helpful in navigating the menu. Recommend to anyone looking for unique cuisine and southern charm!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 29 South Eats also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to 29 South Eats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 29 South Eats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.