We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful evening with friends - plus great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 29 South Eats

29 South Eats
29 S 3rd St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
(904) 277-7919
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
29 South Eats is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ash
Roswell
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening with friends - plus great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This place is the perfect place for an evening with friends. We had a party of 14 sitting outside on the porch. Called ahead and they had the table ready and waiting. We covered the menu and there was no one disappointed. We even were fortunate enough to have their last peach pie and cinnamon ice cream dessert -- yum!! The biggest hits were the Tuscan Bean Soup, the Pork chops and Chicken. The grilled romaine salad was fabulous and a great starter - but definitely leave room for dessert. We will make it an annual event!

I noted someone had problems with mosquitos -- definitely might be a problem during summer months but in October it was blissful!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    168
    60
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SouthGa
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Find in Historic Fernandina Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We happened on 29 South while wandering through historic downtown Fernandina Beach during a recent fall getaway and decided to have a small lunch of appetizers. So glad we did! Our choices were fresh and delicious, artistically prepared and presented, and the service was friendly and attentive without being intrusive. We loved the fried green tomato short-stack with goat cheese and a red bell pepper relish/marmalade, and the lobster corndog (a whole lobster tail dipped in cornmeal batter, deep fried and served with a vodka-infused cocktail sauce) was inventive and really delicious! The pulled pork eggrolls with slaw and sweet chili glaze were a wonderful twist on southern cuisine. We loved our experience here at lunch, and the dinner menu looked wonderful as well - great salads, inviting entrees, etc. Not inexpensive but well worth the price. We'll definitely be back on our next trip. A wonderful find!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“one of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

a once a week regular the menu never disappoints...often eclectic but just as often filled with gems...the service never disappoints either

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
“Wonderful Quaint Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

29 South was the perfect spot for Sunday brunch. We sat outside and enjoyed the lovely weather. The food was fantastic. Everything was fresh and organic - the veggies were fresh from their garden! I highly recommend this restaurant!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice local cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Recently tried this restaurant and it was very good. I got the crusted bread appetizer, which was very good; the ingredients were very fresh and tasty. For the entree I tried the smoked duck salad, good gamey duck. Wanted to try the fried peach pie but they didn't have it so that was the only negative I have. The waiter we had was very polite as well. I would recommend trying this place, maybe sit outside and watch the sunset is best.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 29 South Eats also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to 29 South Eats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 29 South Eats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.