We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Flavors!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 29 South Eats

29 South Eats
29 S 3rd St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
(904) 277-7919
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
29 South Eats is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ash
Farmington, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Flavors!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I had the sweet-tea brined pork chop served over mac n' cheese with blackberry preserves. Amazing!!! My husband had the fresh caught grouper that was also excellent. We did splurge on the bread pudding dessert, and so glad we did. YUM!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    168
    60
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waldwick, New Jersey
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Should be higher ranked”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Dined here for the first time and ate outside. Excellent service and food. My fiance had the Lobster Corn Dog and declared this the 2nd best appetizer of all time (the first - lobster ravioli in Paris - difficult to beat). Entrees were excellent. Highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Oh My Goodness!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We live on Amelia Island but had never tried this restaurant. With company visiting, one of whom whom suffers with numerous food allergies, we thought this might be a great place to try. And we were correct! Our guest was able to have a great dinner along with the rest of us. Dinner for four with iced tea came out to $120 and it was worth every penny. I had the Sockeye Salmon special which was amazing with mushroom risotto. One friend had the fish tacos which were homemade taco shells and really good and fresh. Another had the Mahi special over lima bean and corn succotash and it was also fresh and great. Fourth person had the shrimp and grits which he said were just wonderful. Two of us had an appetizer of the soup of the evening which was white bean with sausage. So good and so fresh! The fact that they are a "farm to table" restaurant and everything is fresh from either their garden or other local gardens and farms make it even more worthwhile. Service was great until the meal came and then the waiter disappeared. We had to sit with empty drinks for over 10 minutes before someone refilled our drinks. For the price this was not acceptable and the service is why I can't give 5 stars. We visited about 8pm on a Sunday evening so we didn't have to have reservations or wait to get a table nor was it so busy that our server was over taxed. Highly recommend this restaurant for its' award winning food!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best food on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was the best meal I had during my stay on Amelia. I had the sweet tea brined pork chop and it was superb. It came served over homemade mac n' cheese and greenbeans with blackberry preserves and may have combined to be the best bite I have ever put in my mouth. We ate here on our last night, which is probably a good thing because I would have gone back every night we were on the island if I had known how great it was. It's really small so get reservations. We were seated immediately at our reservation time and the server made sure we were fed and out in under an hour so we could make it to our ghost tour. GO HERE!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas-Fort Worth
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Breakfast/Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Enjoyed the southern twist on some breakfast/brunch staples. Great location, great neighborhood for walking around and enjoying a leisurely Sunday afternoon. Wasn't sure if the gentleman playing the harmonica was a regular, or if we just happened to catch a little something special, but it made for a very distinct experience because of that.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 29 South Eats also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to 29 South Eats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 29 South Eats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.