We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back for their excellent food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 29 South Eats

29 South Eats
29 S 3rd St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
(904) 277-7919
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
29 South Eats is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ash
Charlevoix
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back for their excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We haven't been for a few years to 29 South, so we decided to try it again, & are happy we did! Everything was so delicious, including fried green tomatoes, mushroom lasagna, & Mahi Mahi. The chocolate souffle with homemade butter pecan ice cream was the best dessert I've ever had, & I've had plenty! We will return & recommend the place to our friends!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    168
    60
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sc
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Food is very tasty. Service a little off for us but the couples next to us had much better. Shrimp and grits and special were equally good. Reservations recommended.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Life changing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Meals here were the culinary highlight of our trip to Amelia Island. Spectacular cooking with local ingredients. My memorable meal was fried shrimp and grits in a sherry, andouille sauage gravy washed down with a fantastic Jacksonville, FL IPA. I wish 29 South Eats was in NY, we'd be there three times a week.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Still talking about "the best meal"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I went here during Restaurant Week this year. We love their brunch, but have never had dinner here. Now weeks later, my husband is still raving about the best meal he's had. I got the honey fried chicken which was absolutely delicious, while my husband got the tea-brined pork. The food was incredible. Everything tastes fresh. If you're looking for a good dinner, this is the place to go. And the coffee and donuts is the most ridiculous dessert I've ever had. This is definitely one of our favorite restaurants.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Very Informal atmosphere but good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This restaurant is located in a cute house in historic Fernandina Beach. The service is quite friendly and efficient. At first, the decor is a bit off-putting for a restaurant - you feel like you're eating in someone's kitchen - but once you get used to it, there is charm to it. There are black and white tiles on the floor and walls and the [actual] kitchen can be viewed [where we sat] through an opening in the back. The restaurant looks like it has an extensive collection of wines and unique looking beers - a tiered shelf in the middle of our part of the restaurant displayed them in an attractive way [we're water drinkers!].
The food we ordered was excellent and arrived quickly. We especially liked the appetizers available on our evening - very good pulled pork spring rolls that had a hint of a tang and the "stacked" fried green tomatoes. Those portions were just right. The catch of the day was grouper and very fresh and the fried chicken was delectable. Their desserts looked scrumptious but we were too full. The nice waitress said a small piece of flour-less chocolate cake with a scoop of butterscotch ice cream which was not on the menu was available. We got that to share and rolled out of this place happy and sated.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 29 South Eats also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to 29 South Eats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 29 South Eats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.