We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Restaurant and Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 29 South Eats

29 South Eats
29 S 3rd St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
(904) 277-7919
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
29 South Eats is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ash
St. Simons Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing Restaurant and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This restaurant has charm and a food selection that is creative and delicious. The chef, Sean, actually created a meal for me that was not on the menu and it was so tasty that I am still thinking of that dish! I have many limitations with sodium and being a vegetarian and the polenta with vegetables and chickpea cakes were awesome! Sean's wife, Hathaway was very attentive and a delight! This is a must stop if you enjoy a five star meal with a southern flair. Betsy and Mike Paul

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    190
    66
    31
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fit for foodies!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

What a fabulous find on Amelia Island. The restaurant is housed in a renovated home, with tables in a few rooms on the first floor. Our party of four loved every dish we ordered. We started with apps of the grilled romaine salad and a puréed parsnip soup - both were absolutely delicious. For the entrees we had the bleu cheese sirloin, pork chop w/Mac and cheese and berry compote, and the shrimp and grits. All of the entrees were equally tasty. I think we all could have licked our plates! We were too stuffed to try dessert but the chef sent us out their specialty dessert of Coffee and Doughnuts. OMG.....crazy good!! We somehow found room to finish this delicious dessert. The next time we visit the Island, 29 South is definitely on our agenda.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Fun !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Just delightful and delicious. So creative. Love dining there. We've been there 3 times in the past two weeks. Try the coffee and donuts for dessert, a side order of Mac and cheese with blackberry preserves, any type of fish served with succotash, fried chicken ,
and anything else that looks appealing. Great menu choices. You can't go wrong.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This restaurant is a gem - We went for lunch and when we got there, only one other couple was there. By the time we left, the restaruant was almost full. It might be a little loud if it was full - but it wasn't too bad when we were there. The wait staff was attentive. My husband got the shrimp and grits - it was so delicious and very rich. My son got the special which was pork tacos. He said they were good also. We had the fried green tomoatoes for an appetizer and they were delicious - but only three slices so there was only enough for us to have one a piece. I got the BLT and it was good and enough to really share with someone. We split the dessert - coffee and doughnuts - it was good but I would not need to get it again. We will for sure be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We decided to have lunch at 29 South Eats because of their menu, and we were not disappointed.
Food; Eclectic, fresh and full of flavor. We had the Lobster Corn Dog (unique and excellent), the Red, White and Blue Waygu Burger (large portion and very good), and my wife had a grilled chicken salad (very good). They have a decent wine list.
Ambiance: A very modern space environment. Modern furniture and tile all over. A good look.
Service: The service was good, but not great. Our waitress was very attentive and good when she was around, but there were times when she could not be found.
TIP: make an appointment so that you do not have a long wait. they tend to send customers away when they are full.
Overall, a good experience, excellent food, well worth the visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 29 South Eats also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to 29 South Eats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 29 South Eats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.