We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and dog friendly on the porch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 29 South Eats

29 South Eats
29 S 3rd St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
(904) 277-7919
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
29 South Eats is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ash
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food and dog friendly on the porch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Food was wonderful and porch was dog friendly. Only negative was the mosquitos outside..i know i know it is outside near the water, we should have had bug spray but we didnt think to. Maybe having pest service would help. Food and service were great!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    168
    60
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Marys, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Deliciousness on a Plate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

farm to Table cuisine from mostly local farms. Food was amazing, started with the crab cake with pickled watermelon rind, that was a real treat. Had the pork chop with macaroni gratin with warm blackberry preserves, went with another family member who had the mahi mahi with succotash.We sat outside and it was lovely. The wine list is limited if you are ordering by the glass. Our server Ian, was awesome!! Can't wait to go back...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The food was great! We sat outside and was able to hear a band play from a bar down the block. Great location in the historic district.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Home grown veggies and herbs carefully prepared in a creative way.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I enjoyed the curried fish. It was very tasty without being overbearing. The evening we were there the owner sat at the table next to us, ate the same meal and came over to us to ask how we liked the food. He thanked us for coming. Very nice touch.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Perfect off-beat place! We ate outside and had a wonderful private table. Katie, our server, was superb. Wine list is limited when ordering by the glass but what we ordered was very good.
Cloth table linens were lovely for a causal dining venue.
Had to try the lobster corn dog--quite good--plus the fried green tomatoes with goat cheese--fantastic.
We split a Southern Barbecue salad which featured pulled pork over Romaine lettuce with more fried green tomatoes, a deviled egg, and corn bread.
Good place--can't go wrong!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 29 South Eats also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to 29 South Eats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 29 South Eats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.