We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachside Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Beachside Motel to your Saves list
Beachside Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3172 S. Fletcher Avenue, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Winchester, Kentucky
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good place to stay....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Beachside is a charming older motel. Great beach access and wonderful views of the ocean from our room. Be sure to get up and watch the sunrise. Rooms are older but clean and staff is friendly. Nice pool and restaurants within walking distance. Sorry we only had one night to spend there...will be back!

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    40
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
29
38
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, FL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Real keys for the room doors (when's the last time you saw that?); front desk closes down for the night; "patio" is two plastic chairs in the walkway between rooms, but we loved it. Average-sized rooms; ocean view; clean, comfortable; friendly helpful staff; cheap TV in the regular rooms (the "penthouse" had a nice flat screen); Nice pool; pretty short distance from the water.

We returned late from brunch and checked out an hour and a half late. They let us off w/out any extra charge (Thank you!)

Would definitely stay again, maybe this summer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanwood, nj
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

On the beach and in the middle of the island. Old school motel with lots of trucks in the parking lot. Very convient to everything. Staff very friendly. Efficiency room larger than expected. I imagine the rooms on the second floor are quieter than the first floor.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were looking for a simple place to stay with our family for a short trip to the beach with no deposits or cleaning fees. The staff was friendly and our room was clean. The motel is old, and could use some updating, but it served the purpose that we needed. Our bed was comfortable and our room did not smell. We practically had the whole place to ourselves, but don't expect any complimentary upgrades. The pool looked nice and the beach was great. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Basic, on the water, great service. Nothing fancy, but everything worked. Arrived in the middle of the night. Manager left room door open for me so I could register the next morning. Ample parking. Swimming pool. Coffee maker, ironing board, iron, shampoo, soap, etc. in the room. Wish I had steyed longer, but business plans took me elsewhere. Great local dining recommendation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I loved this place and I will go back. VERY VERY clean. We had a kitchenett on front of building facing water. Woke to gorgeous sunrise each morning. I mean ya couldnt see maybe the sandy beach but OCEAN VIEW, FANTASTIC! I mean water every where. Path to beach great and I am handicapped and have to use hiking stick. Kitchen was great with all things we needed. STAFF was more than helpful especially first night Jean helped me with maps and such, thanks Jean. Talked with manager she was very nice too. ALL IN all I will be back next DEC. LOVED IT....no complaitns here. We stayed 3 days and had to leave early and was refunded the last day (day 4) we couldnt stay with no problems.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Friendly staff, simple and clean rooms. Sand walk way right to the beautiful beach ! They have a nice pool, but it was a little chilly for swimming at the end of November. Price is right for a simple place to stay right on the beach, and not a far drive to the quaint down town, with shopping and nice restaurants. Of course, we are happy there is a nice eating establishment right across the street. Great beach for walks and sea shell searching ! If you decide to try this motel, don't expect anything fancy-but you will be quite comfortable.

Room Tip: We like to stay upstairs, a little more private and quiet. Next time we will request the upstairs b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Motel

Address: 3172 S. Fletcher Avenue, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachside Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just Renovated! The Beachside Motel is Amelia Island's only oceanfront motel and is locally owned and operated. Designed with your comfort in mind, our tastefully decorated rooms all have Flatscreen TV, telephones and free wifi. Fridges are found in our Classic Rooms; Microwave,Fridge, and sink/kitchen prep area in our Efficiency Rooms and fully equipped kitchenettes with Stove, Fridge and complete kitchen available for guests who prefer a more homestyle atmosphere are found in our Oceanfront Kitchen Suite Rooms. Begin each day with complimentary coffee and yummies in our lobby. Swim or sun around our full-size oceanfront pool which is just steps from the beach. Just minutes from the island's charming historic town of Fernandina Beach, the public golf course, and Ft. Clinch State Park and across the street from one of the local's favorite restaurants, The Surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beachside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachside Hotel Fernandina Beach
Beachside Motel Fernandina Beach
Beachside Motel Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachside Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.