We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2801 Atlantic Ave., Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We chose this hotel since it was between our friends house and the beach. Very clean. Looks like they were doing some improvements the lobby area. Breakfast was great. Right next to beach and park. Very nice rooms. We were there for spring break and it was very quiet. Lots of families.

Will stay again, no doubt.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    82
    32
    15
    5
See reviews for
70
77
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Navan, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed for just 1 night 5 of us 2 adults and 3 kids staff very friendly and helpful room just fine for the price and breakfast was yummy, hot and tasty, location right on the beach and 5 min drive to marina.Free parking also.

Room Tip: Family room just perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The comfort Suites in Fernadina beach is being remodeled and that should help with the negatives we experienced. The bed was very comfortable and the room had a microwave and small college style fridge. It is just very dated and well worn, but the location is great and the staff were mostly helpful. We did have a beach view room but it had a view of a power cable and a the back of a condo as well. It is well within walking distance of the beach and there is one bar / grill on the way to the beach. The town is lovely and nice to stroll through and you feel safe on a bike or on foot.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Booked a room here on Priceline, so I didn't know what hotel we were going to get until I purchased. As many of the other reviews noted, the location is great just right across the street from the beach and just down the road from the great historic downtown Fernandina Beach area. The room we had was nice and clean, staff was nice and helpful. Breakfast is included with the room, standard continental breakfast items along with eggs, sausage, and make your own waffle station. Other than dealing with the "professional free breakfast crowd" that tend to nitpick everything, breakfast was OK but very crowded. There is also a small outdoor pool in the back, was OK but nothing special. Overall, nice for what we paid especially considering the location.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are on the third floor, even numbered rooms I believe. Room 320 overlooks adjacent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Let me begin by stating that we booked through hotels.com with little notice, got a good rate, and booked without a hitch. Staff were all friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable, and all was in working order and good condition.

Breakfast was actually pretty good, including a make-your-own-waffle bar and eggs & bacon. There was also coffee in the lobby around the clock, though the clerk did say if I wanted some in the evening he would need to brew a pot. He did make the offer. :)

My one complaint is that in spite of the "breathe easy" signs posted all over, the only cigarette receptacle to be seen was directly at the front door, which meant that my family had to walk through a cloud of smoke (from a Dept of Environmental Protection crew, no less!) when returning to the hotel. Not the best plan. But other than that, a great stay, and we will definitely consider returning.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake City, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Nice hotel. Very comfortable accomodations. Very friendly staff. Good breakfast, hot. About half a block down from the beach, but quick walk. Good location. Right next to State Park, with Historic Fort Clinch. 1 minute walk to beach. 3 minute drive to downtown. Only problem- Smoke Free signs all over hotel, then they put their Designated Smoking Area, RIGHT AT THE FRONT DOOR. Would earn better rating if they would move it around the corner, or to other end of building. And this coming from a former smoker.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corner Brook, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

As part of the Comfort Inn chain, this hotel is quite predictable, although it is perhaps one of the better ones we've visited in terms of quality. Located just a one minute walk from the beach, it should qualify as a beach hotel, but it is not strictly speaking "on the beach". That said, it is in a good location. Fernandina Beach town is about one mile away, an easy drive or a long walk down one main street. The town is quaint and well worth visiting.

The room was large and well outfitted, except for a broken table lamp (it looked crooked). Hopefully, management has fixed that one by now. The rooms are clean and comfortable - that is the highest criteria for us.

Included breakfast in the lobby is reasonable in terms of selection, once again typical for this chain.

Parking is adequate for the hotel size, but in busy seasons, it might be a bit tight.

Our only objection was that we had a room at a quoted rate, but when we checked out, $1.50 had been added for the use of an in-room safe. We had neither asked for nor used a safe, so we were annoyed at this increase in our room rate. When we complained, however, the desk clerk quickly removed it. One wonders how often guests simply ignore this small charge, providing a considerable income stream from all rooms over a full year. Hotels should NOT do that - everything should be in the room rate or pointed out to you when you book.

We would return if visiting the region again. That is perhaps the best review any hotel can receive..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegionalManagerSE, Manager at Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Our hotel will soon be going under a transformation with new Furniture, lamps, beds, carpet, sofabeds, and new art work. We are excited for these new changes and hopefully will have our color board in the lobby to show off our soon to be newly renovated "TRUELY YOURS" look.

Sincerely,

Kapil Bava - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island

Address: 2801 Atlantic Ave., Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is 100% non-smoking with all-suite rooms. All rooms offer a seating area with sofa-sleeper, microwave/fridge, free hot breakfast, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, and free wi-fi. Our hotel is located steps away from main beach and only 1 mile from historic downtown Fernandina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
Comfort Suites Fernandina Beach
Fernandina Beach Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island Fernandina Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.