We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekender” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2801 Atlantic Ave., Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Weekender”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The room was well equipped and comfortable, the lobby and breakfast areas were clean and well cared for except for the carpeting. Breakfast selections were complete and very good. Overall the hotel is pretty nice except the carpeting in the rooms as well as the hallways and lobby areas are pretty badly stained.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    82
    32
    15
    5
See reviews for
70
77
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
springfield, virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Enjoyed our stay and, in fact, extended a day to enjoy the beach and tour lovely Fort Clinch. The ocean view from our 3rd floor room was outstanding, especially watching the sunrise. Our room was clean, comfortable and spacious. Towels were fluffy and generous as were the soaps and shampoos. The in-room coffee maker was not working and although it was reported the next day, it remained non functioning for our 3 day stay. However, there was plenty of delicious coffee in the lobby for breakfast where there was also a variety of selections for breakfast. The pleasant, friendly breakfast lady maintained a plentiful supply. She obviously takes pride in her job. The beach is but a short distance and not crowded. The town of Fernandina is a short drive, where the sunsets are exquisite. The hall ways are hot but the rooms are cool. My husband suggests a vent in the ice/vendor room but I suspect, the hall ways are simply not air conditioned. Its the only suggestion for this very nice facility where the staff are pleasant, the location convenient, the room spacious and clean and the breakfast bountiful.

Room Tip: Enjoy the sunrise and ocean from the ocean view rooms on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel over the Labor Day weekend. Rooms were clean and the location for what we wanted was perfect. We were just there to unwind. The hotel is located about 100 yards from the Main Beach and we could see the ocean from our first floor room. The hotel is also right next door to the entrance to Ft Clinch State Park, which is absolutely beautiful. This is the most affordable accomodation on the island with convenient beach access.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The hotel was well located only a block from the beach. We had a nice large room with an ocean view. The room was well maintained and kept clean. The hotel staff was very pleasant and helpful. Included was a morning breakfast that included waffles, eggs, bacon, sausage, different breads, and too much more to list. The lady who took care of the breakfast area was happy, friendly, and very helpful. She kept the area clean and well stocked with food items. She was a great representative of the hotel. This hotel is a good place to stay and the price is right.

Room Tip: pay a little extra and get a large ocean view room on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

For a small weekend getaway to Amelia Island / Fernandina Beach, I stayed here at he Comfort Suites. After my stay I can honestly say I can;t wait to go back, well worth the 5hr drive from South Florida. The hotel was perfect, clean, and spacious. However the BEST part was it was a few feet walking distance from the beach. Beautiful waking up to watch the sunrise and just as amazing to watch the sunset. The beach is superb as the white fine sand doesn't stick to you, which is my favorite kind. The place is VERY affordable, and the location is AWESOME! Also the hotel is not even a 5min drive into the cute historic downtown area of Fernandina. It doesn't get better than this, for an affordable and beyond relaxing quiet weekend. One of my best finds yet. I HIGHLY recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We drove to Amelia Island to see what was there and stay for a few days.
We got into the downtown tourist area and found an old Hotel just off main street and we went in asked for a look at the rooms and checked out the prices. We felt it was a bit pricey for a very small room. We decided to look elsewhere
At the other end of the main street ( not too far as we are talking the other side of a small island). We found the Comfort Inn. Nice room, reasonably priced, includes a complimentary breakfast to get you off to the right start in the morning. A good view of the Ocean sort of across the street. Easy walk to the beach.
Near Sandy Bottoms restaurant on the beach.
We would certainly stay there again and recomment this place to others.

Room Tip: Ocean view room is nice if you can get there early enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

It's been a while since I've stayed at a Comfort Suites as I usually opt for Hampton Inns but chose this hotel because of the price and was glad I did after our 2 night stay. Location is great. Walking distance to Main beach, which is great for family w/ kids as there is a neat playground, skateboard park, mini gold, picnic pavilions w/ facilities and a boardwalk to the beach. Just a short and easy drive to the famed historic district and next to Fort Clinch which I wish we'd had time to visit. There is a convenience store next door that is great to get gas at before you head out! Was pleased to see a man at the desk when we arrived and he was nice enough, no rude girl! Check in was quick and easy, Would have liked to have more of the travel brochures offered that I saw hiding behind the desk. I had to ask on 2 separate occasions to get the ones I wanted. Not sure why they were kept so secure? As all mentioned before, the hallway on the floors were HOT! The stairwell was cooler than the halls! Honestly I believe if they would just put a door to where the ice and coke machines are that this would ease this problem. I feel they just did not put enough vents in the hall but when you opened the door to your room the chill flowed and felt great! Was very pleased at the size of the room. 2 Queen beds, sofa and table w/ 2 chairs, with easy access to plugs for charging cell phones. The mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker really helped on convenience. Was also surprised to find a safe in the room although it was under the drawer below the night stand so I didn't even try to get down on hands and knees to see how to use it! Would have been better in the closet at a higher level. The beds were very comfortable with comfy bedding and 4 pillows that said one was softer than the other but it was difficult for me to tell the difference between the two. I do have back trouble and was able to sleep very well. The rooms were quiet except for once or twice I heard kids running in the halls but this was not an issue. The rooms felt very clean but the couch did seem like it could have used a nice shampoo as do the carpets in the hallway especially! The bathroom was adequate and felt the towels to be extra thick and nice. Toiletries were very basic. Had no issues with housekeeping. Pool was small but we didn't use it anyway. After a certain time at night you can not re-enter the hotel from the back or side entrance even w/ a key and must use front entrance. I'm sure this is a security feature and nice to know about it but would have been nicer to know this before went outside to view meteor shower on the beach! Traffic in this area was low and felt very safe. Breakfast was better than expected with scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, instant grits/ oatmeal, cereal, donuts, toast and do it yourself waffle with blueberry and regular waffle batter. Was pleased to find flavored coffee creamer as an option as well. The only drawback is that it was a very small space. I would definitely stay here again but next time would go for the ocean view room! The parking lot view had pool view and grown trees so it wasn't awful but I think beach view would have been worth the extra money. Agree to go w/ top floor so wouldn't hear running of feet. Also noticed there were 4 bikes that could have been available to use but not sure of details.
Overall I was very pleased with our stay!

Room Tip: Pay more for the beach view and top floor for added view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island

Address: 2801 Atlantic Ave., Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is 100% non-smoking with all-suite rooms. All rooms offer a seating area with sofa-sleeper, microwave/fridge, free hot breakfast, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, and free wi-fi. Our hotel is located steps away from main beach and only 1 mile from historic downtown Fernandina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
Comfort Suites Fernandina Beach
Fernandina Beach Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island Fernandina Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.