We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in Fernandina!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Clos

Le Clos
20 South Second Street, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
(904) 261-8100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Perfection in Fernandina!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Le Clos never disappoints. We have now been around 10 times and the consistently delicious cuisine is perfection each and every time. Going on Saturday night is always a treat as restruant always fills up so make reservations as the small quaint yellow house of a restruant will be full. The wine list is relatively small but covers a good range as well as quality. The wife had a wonderful moscato recommended by Barbara who was amazing and attentive offering wonderful customer service. I cannot speak for all the appetizers but the escargot is simply divine and then you have the bread to 'sop' in such a wonderful garlic butter concoction that makes me tingle with giddiness. The menu is simple and I believe that is why Le Clos is consistent perfection. I had the tuna grilled and it melted in my mouth....wow. My wife had the pork tenderloin and it was also yummy. Also, my wife's birthday was Sunday and Le Clos is not opened Sundays so they brought my wife a piece of chocolate cake to share that was brought warm with ice cream and homemade caramel topping....OMG so good. IMO, the best restruant on the island. Enjoy!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    79
    20
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

After our second visit I had to let you know how great the food is here! We have sampled quite a bit of the menu and every dish has been very fresh, well prepared and elegantly presented. The best appetizer is the pate, closely followed by the vichyssoise soup. My favorite main dish is the grouper special, which I highly recommend. For dessert try the creme brûlée, a true delight!

The restaurant is small and a bit noisy when full. I suggest coming early when it's not so crowded and a little more quiet. Definitely make reservations a few days in advance as it's difficult to get in.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Anniversary Dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I just happened to be staying right across the street at the Hampton Inn and decided to splurge a little to celebrate our anniversary. It was a little more costly than we are used to spending for a night out, but it was well worth kit. It is in a converted house, decorated nicely. We had reservations, but it was a Monday evening and not too crowded. The waitress was attentive without being overbearing, and the dinners were absolutely delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“wonderful dinner experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I had a hard time finding this resturant on the fernandina list. I don't know why. We have eaten there twice but they were spaced by 2-3 years. We sought it out on our second visit and were not disappointed. It's a small french resturant with lots of atmosphere, an excellent wine list, and the dinners have been quite spectacular. Our highest rating. We have a friend with a winter cottage on Amelia Island--we mentioned Le Clos to her and she oh yes--thank god for Le Clos

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Duck tastes better than ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Great duck really helpful waitress named Stephanie and great vichyssoise soup but you have to go early if you want it not to be SUPER BUSY and tea tastes like water other than that its great!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Clos also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Le Clos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Clos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.