We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Clos

Le Clos
20 South Second Street, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
(904) 261-8100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Felpham
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a superb French Restaurant serving excellent food with wonderful flavours.
The quality of food served is matched by the service, very good.
This restaurant is a cut above the too familiar restaurants that compete on quantity. At the end of the evening you feel pleasently full without feeling bloated. We always find that is a good sign.
We also loved the background jazz music being a mixture of Stacey Kent and Melody Gardot.
This restaurant is one to return to again and again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    77
    20
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food in charming environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

The food is outstanding and the service is excellent. The atmosphere is quaint and relaxed. The menu was diverse and offered something for everyone.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Could not stop talking about this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Ok, honestly, I was not here, however, my brother asked me to write this review. He and his wife went here for a late dinner one evening and said it was probably one of the best meals they had every had. They could not wait to take us back, unfortunately, they were not open for lunch the next day and we were leaving. So please, someone go and enjoy for us!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Really????”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I'm guessing all the excellent reviews are from people who don't know excellent French cuisine. When first seeing the plates with dried parsley sprinkled all over, I felt foreboding. There was absolutely nothing extraordinary, nor fantastic, nor excellent about my meal ( except the discovery of 900 Grapes Sauvignon Blanc ). The pork was bland, as we're the potatoes and the side.... Well was it supposed to be a salad or warm julienned vegetables??? Crunchy and cold. My friend's scallops did not elate either.
The server was a obviously a stellar salesperson and popular at that.
I would never return.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We ate here with friends a few days ago. All of us had fish dishes (grouper, salmon and seared tuna). All were very fresh, prepared well without overpowering seasonings, just right. We also enjoyed their home-made vanilla ice-cream with caramel sauce... Yummm! Must try if you like ice-cream.
Service was friendly and efficient. It seemed to have local patrons and not just tourist guests.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Clos also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Le Clos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Clos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.