We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Evening at Espana's!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Espana Restaurant & Tapas

Espana Restaurant & Tapas
22 S 4th St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-4272
+1 904-261-7700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Espana Restaurant & Tapas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Portuguese, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Centre Street
Description: The traditional flavors of Spain and Portugal are highlighted in all our dishes here in the heart of historic Fernandina Beach. Sip on homemade Sangria or enjoy a glass of wine from a list of hand picked selections (International and Californian). Choose from a menu of hot and cold tapas, "just caught" fish or meat entrees including the national dish of Spain, Paella. You can choose to dine in our cozy main dining room, bright enclosed patio dining room or lush garden dining area (weather permitting). Chef Roberto is a second generation restaurateur, with over 25 years experience. He endeavors to make your evening a memorable one by bringing both his own family recipes, and inspiration from trips to Spain and Portugal for you to savor and enjoy. Family owned and operated since 2004. The Original on Amelia Island!
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely Evening at Espana's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Along the walkway the restaurant walls are embraced the greenery of a living plant. Inside the atmosphere is cozy and festive and looks out onto a picturesque patio. The hostess was warm and welcoming and we took seats at the bar since reservations were all filled. It was a great decision because we had the constant attention of several staff members -- all of whom had to be chosen to work there because of their outgoing personalities and excellent, helpful suggestions and Spanish cuisine and wines. We had never had Spanish beer -- it was a wonderful surprise, quite excellent! (So is the wine!) It was a very pleasurable experience and we look forward to going again next year!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    421
    128
    39
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Quaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Espana is a lovely Portugues restaurant with a quiet, relaxing atmosphere. They have a large selection of wines and offer beer but do not have a full bar.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding Meal!! Lovely Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Ate at this fantastic restaurant with my husband at the end of January 2013 on a Tuesday night. We are frequent restaurant eaters and feel I know a fantastic, delicious meal when I get one, especially at a reasonable price. If you love a great FRESH fish dinner like I do, then, this is one of the top places to get it while in Fernandina Beach. We shared a salad for an appetizer, then I had the spicy red snapper and he had the scallops. Both dishes were fantastic and we finished every bite on our plate(something we don't normally do since we love taking home leftovers, but we were on vacation so didn't want to waste any even though we were so full). I thought everything was top notch from the service, the wine list and the entire menu. If I lived there, it would most certainly be my favorite "go-to" place. Lastly, the chef-owner came out of the kitchen checking that everything was good. As we were highly complimenting him on such a fantastic meal, he even gave us suggestions for other good restaurants in the area to eat at. (Unfortunately for us, we were leaving for home the next day.) In my opinion, that is a true business gentleman!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Great paella, great tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

The concierge at the Ritz Carlton suggested this restaurant and it was great. The lobster ravioli tapas plate was fantastic. My wife had the chicken and seafood paella. It was a huge dish loaded with seafood. I had the spicy grouper which was topped with large prawns. It was also very good. The place was very busy for a Tuesday night so I would recommend making reservations if you go.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constant Traveller
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
“Simply Stupendous; There's Nothing More to Say”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Visited this restaurant in February 2013. Our party of five was seated quickly and graciously by the staff. The wines were very good. The room is handsome and uncluttered. But service is medium-to-high quality; clearly they don't have much turnover of staff so the workers know their routines nicely. But the absolutely terrific aspect is the food. Two of us had paella and it was delicious, with enormous toppings of seafood. The Portugese seafood stew was eye-popping and delicious; it was SO tasty everybody had to have a sip and decreed it the finest dinner of the night. I had a terrific red snapper but it was ho-hum when compared to the other two dishes. The deserts were equally enticing. Lastly, the prices were not out of sight -- while not cheap, it was very reasonable for the quality received.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Espana Restaurant & Tapas also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Espana Restaurant & Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Espana Restaurant & Tapas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.