We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch with a View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brett's Waterway Cafe Incorporated

Brett's Waterway Cafe Incorporated
1 S Front St, Ste 2, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-4296
904-261-2660
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Lunch with a View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

My husband and I came across the Waterway Cafe while driving around Amelia Island. It looked like an interesting place for lunch because it was located on the water. Fortunately, our table was on the lower level next to the large windows which gave us an opportunity to check out the moored boats, birds, and clouds.

The restaurant prides itself on offering Florida's first sunset because of it's location. Not being from Florida, we thought it was peculiar that it wasn't known for having the first sunrise, but oh well...maybe our directions were mixed up. When questioned, the waitress was confused as well.

My $7 salad was huge. As a side, I ordered the homemade applesauce. It was served ice cold which was a disappointment because I pictured "homemade" as warm applesauce. My husband had a fish sandwich. The food was fresh and tasty.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    284
    119
    54
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband and I had a lovely dinner at Bretts. Keeping in mind it is the off season and mid week, we were happy to find Brett's open. Located right on the water, the views are beautiful and the best sunset on the island. Our dinner was very good. We did have a bit of an issue with the servers' menu and wine knowledge. She had to ask for help several times with the wine list, then they could not find the wine, and could not suggest an alternative to what we ordered.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We sat on the porch and enjoyed a few beers and watched the boats come in and out the pier. Had to go in and get drinks. They don't come out unless you order food.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piqua, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“great food, lovely decor, wonderful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Ate here twice in the four days we were in Fernandina Beach/Amelia Island. Dinner and lunch were both excellent, well presented, price $$$

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dinner at Brett's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We ate at this restaurant for our last night on the island. The food was GREAT...and PLENTIFUL.....the waitress was fantastic...this is definitely a place to go back to....

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brett's Waterway Cafe Incorporated also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Brett's Waterway Cafe Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brett's Waterway Cafe Incorporated, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.