We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best meals...ever.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's 2nd Street Bistro

Joe's 2nd Street Bistro
14 S 2nd St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-4202
904-321-2558
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Located in historic downtown Fernandina Beach, Joe's 2nd St. Bistro serves innovative cuisine in a relaxed, island atmosphere. Enjoy fresh seafood specialties in a 1900's home, or outside in a New Orleans inspired Courtyard.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One of the best meals...ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I dined at Joe's for his birthday dinner and it was fantasitic. The restaurant was recommended to us by a friend and we are so glad we took him up on his suggestion. We enjoyed the shrimp cocktail appetizer first (the sauce had a bite to it, but not overpowering). The shrimp were a little smaller than I thought they would be, but the sauce and presentation made up for it.

For our entrees, I enjoyed the NY Strip, which was "divided" into 3 sections, each with a different type of sauce on it. It had a side of mashed potatoes and vegetables. My husband had the special, which was a white fish served over rice with a homemade salsa and avocado on top. It was absolutely delicious and the presentation was gorgeous.

We made a reservation and dined around 9 pm. At that point, the restaurant was pretty dead, though it could have been because it was Good Friday.

We will absolutely return - wonderful meal, wish we would have had room for dessert!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Ricky P, Owner at Joe's 2nd Street Bistro, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and review. We are glad you tried one of my favorites (Ny Strip) and one of our creative specials. Hopefully next time we can tempt you with one of our desserts. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip from Jacksonville.
Mari and Ricky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    105
    47
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Interesting and Some Good Food, but!!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I recently went to this restaurant with a friend. Had excellent Gumbo: however, the main course was prime rib(medium rare). The rib with excellant veggies and mashed potatoes came out medium to well. IT WAS SENT BACK! It was brought back, and I was told it was examined under a special light, and it was medium rare as per the waiter. I TRIED IT! Beside not looking rare, the taste and texture were that of medium to well. I took it home to a friend who likes well, and ordered more hors'd orves because I was hungry. For $60 a person, I expect a prime rib cooked as ordered, not examined under a special light and a waiter who takes my side. 12 % tip!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Ricky P, Owner at Joe's 2nd Street Bistro, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your experience. I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you in person. Please give me a call up here at Joe's.
Mari and Ricky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We really enjoyed an excellent meal at Joe's. Like a lot of the restaurants in Fernandina Beach, it tends toward small - so plan ahead to get reservations. Our service was good. The décor was pleasant. the star here is the food.

My wife had a grilled salmon entrée that is hard to describe - other than creative and delicious. The sauce was sweet & savory, the salmon cooked perfectly - the sides with it also good. In went for salad & appetizers instead of an entrée. The shrimp & asparagus soup was out of this world good. My salad was good and my clams casino were great. We split a chocolate terrine for dessert - different chocolate mousses and a little chocolate cake - Wow!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Ricky P, Owner at Joe's 2nd Street Bistro, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. I am glad that you had such an incredible experience with us. I will share this with our staff and I know they will be happy with you kind words. Next time you are in town please say hello to either Myself or my wife, Mari.
Mari and Ricky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield County, Connecticut
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner for three”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband, teen daughter and I enjoyed a lovely, quiet dinner here one evening last week. The food was quite good, if a bit pricey. The service was attentive. Nice, varied wine list with a range of price points.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“New chef does wonders, but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The new chef at this old standby in the tourist district does wonders with combinations, quality and presentation. But for the price, the portions are a bit skimpy. The lamb entree was mostly potatoes ( the gravy was superb). The wine list is good, but, again, pricey.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's 2nd Street Bistro also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Joe's 2nd Street Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's 2nd Street Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.