We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's 2nd Street Bistro

Joe's 2nd Street Bistro
14 S 2nd St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-4202
904-321-2558
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Located in historic downtown Fernandina Beach, Joe's 2nd St. Bistro serves innovative cuisine in a relaxed, island atmosphere. Enjoy fresh seafood specialties in a 1900's home, or outside in a New Orleans inspired Courtyard.
Stow, Ohio
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We really enjoyed an excellent meal at Joe's. Like a lot of the restaurants in Fernandina Beach, it tends toward small - so plan ahead to get reservations. Our service was good. The décor was pleasant. the star here is the food.

My wife had a grilled salmon entrée that is hard to describe - other than creative and delicious. The sauce was sweet & savory, the salmon cooked perfectly - the sides with it also good. In went for salad & appetizers instead of an entrée. The shrimp & asparagus soup was out of this world good. My salad was good and my clams casino were great. We split a chocolate terrine for dessert - different chocolate mousses and a little chocolate cake - Wow!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Ricky P, Owner at Joe's 2nd Street Bistro, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. I am glad that you had such an incredible experience with us. I will share this with our staff and I know they will be happy with you kind words. Next time you are in town please say hello to either Myself or my wife, Mari.
Mari and Ricky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    94
    41
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield County, Connecticut
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner for three”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband, teen daughter and I enjoyed a lovely, quiet dinner here one evening last week. The food was quite good, if a bit pricey. The service was attentive. Nice, varied wine list with a range of price points.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“New chef does wonders, but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The new chef at this old standby in the tourist district does wonders with combinations, quality and presentation. But for the price, the portions are a bit skimpy. The lamb entree was mostly potatoes ( the gravy was superb). The wine list is good, but, again, pricey.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch on Fernandina Beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I really enjoyed our lunch. I ordered the catch of the day (snapper) sandwich and it was amazing! The fries were super tasty too! The service was also very good and the restaurant itself was very pretty and chic.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Only O.K.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Nothing to write home about, but decent food for a decent price. Good "first night on vacation" fare.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's 2nd Street Bistro also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Joe's 2nd Street Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's 2nd Street Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.