We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good little find while trying to find a place to eat.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's 2nd Street Bistro

Joe's 2nd Street Bistro
14 S 2nd St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-4202
904-321-2558
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Located in historic downtown Fernandina Beach, Joe's 2nd St. Bistro serves innovative cuisine in a relaxed, island atmosphere. Enjoy fresh seafood specialties in a 1900's home, or outside in a New Orleans inspired Courtyard.
Westbury, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A good little find while trying to find a place to eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Food was very good, service could have been a little better. Owners on site (wife is the hostess and husband is the chef) are very personable and making sure all is fine. Reasonably priced for a very good meal.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Ricky P, Owner at Joe's 2nd Street Bistro, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. We are glad you found us and we enjoyed speaking with you. Please make sure to say hello to us next time you are on the island.
Mari and Ricky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    103
    47
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“What a great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We ate at Joe's on a Saturday evening with two other couples. I had the sautéed veal and shrimp, my wife and another lady had the snapper special, one friend had the grouper, etc. The food was excellent, the veal and shrimp dish was simply outstanding! Every one felt the same way about their dish, except for the poor friend who, on Weight Watchers, had to settle for a salad. Her loss! The service was professional, friendly and leisurely. Our server was Beth, very pleasant and attentive. I highly recommend the restaurant, and we will certainly visit again next time in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Ricky P, Owner at Joe's 2nd Street Bistro, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for giving us a try during your stay on Amelia Island. We are grateful for the kind words. I will defiantly share this with Beth. We are glad that you tried one of our nightly specials as well as some of regular items. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Mari and Ricky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythewood, SC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best gumbo ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had lunch here on a cold Sunday in February. I ordered a half-bowl of gumbo with a salad, and the gumbo was delicious. The other dishes we had -- shrimp and lobster mac & cheese, and the steak salad -- were very good as well. We would recommend this place.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Ricky P, Owner at Joe's 2nd Street Bistro, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad you enjoyed some of our lunch items. I am glad you enjoyed the gumbo on a chilly day. It really warms up the soul doesn't it.
Mari and Ricky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlevoix
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Valentine's Day celebration!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband & I decided to go out for Valentine's Day on Feb. 13, to avoid the crowds. We dined at 6:30, which turned out to be a good time, because the restaurant did fill up by 7:30, & become more noisy. Matt was an excellent waiter, explaining things to us patiently, & bringing my husband a scallops entre, even though they weren't on the menu! He also made it possible for us to have the more expensive Chardonnay when we presented a coupon for one glass free, if you buy one. The atmosphere was serene, but fun sitting at a window table. My Mahi Mahi was good, but I would have preferred less breadcrumbs. We both enjoyed the Bistro salad, which Matt split for us. The dessert selection did not tempt us, so we opted to go down the street for an ice cream cone instead! We are looking forward to going back another time for lunch on the patio.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Ricky P, Owner at Joe's 2nd Street Bistro, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you sharing such a special occasion with us. We are glad Matt took such good care of you. We hope you had a great visit to Amelia Island. We look forward to seeing you again.
Mari and Ricky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Visit Joe's for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great food, great service, and now open for lunch! Highly recommended. Beautiful patio for outdoor dining. We stopped in for lunch and were greeted by friendly staff--kudos especially to our server Chris--who made us feel comfortable, welcome and unrushed. No pressure to order right away, but rather welcomed us to enjoy a drink and relax before ordering. Two in our party had salads and were very pleased with the quality, while another ordered the smoked seafood chowder (a special), which was outstanding! Spread the word: Joe's is now open for a highly enjoyable lunch experience as well as for dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Ricky P, Owner at Joe's 2nd Street Bistro, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for giving us a try for lunch. It is very relaxing in the courtyard. I am glad it was such a pretty day for you visit. I will share your kind words with our staff and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Mari and Ricky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's 2nd Street Bistro also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Joe's 2nd Street Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's 2nd Street Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.