We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, just a little pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's 2nd Street Bistro

Joe's 2nd Street Bistro
14 S 2nd St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-4202
904-321-2558
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Located in historic downtown Fernandina Beach, Joe's 2nd St. Bistro serves innovative cuisine in a relaxed, island atmosphere. Enjoy fresh seafood specialties in a 1900's home, or outside in a New Orleans inspired Courtyard.
Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, just a little pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Food was really quite good and they were flexible with preferences and druthers. Waiter made thoughtful suggestions as we discussed the menu choices. It was a relaxing and nice experience. Desserts a little small but creative. Wine list also on the small side but well thought out with range of variety and prices. As an aside has anyone else noticed that Fernandina seems to have a seemingly high number of restaurants with Bistro in their name? Owner shared they were planning on adding lunch soon..

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Ricky P, Owner at Joe's 2nd Street Bistro, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank for joining us during your stay here on Amelia Island. We are glad we could accommodate your special requests. We are planning on opening for lunch in February of next year and look forward to seeing you again so you can try some of our creative lunch items. Thank you taking the time for the feedback.
Mari and Ricky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    93
    40
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Would not return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were not impressed. Pleasant venue but food very average. Our grouper, in fact, had that distinctly 'old' taste and smell to it. It was expensive for what it was too.
We had booked in advance on the recommendation of our B & B, but wished we had just looked round town for the liveliest, busy place instead.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Ricky P, Owner at Joe's 2nd Street Bistro, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We are sorry that you did not get the experience you were looking for. I have shared your experience with our fish supplier about the quality of the grouper. We pride ourselves in getting fish locally and daily to ensure that it is of the highest quality. Next time you are here in Fernandina Beach please let us know.
Mari and Ricky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach Fl
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“New management wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

It was our first visit since the new management took over. Mary was welcoming and helpful the place has the same excellent feel as it did a couple of years ago.The menue is new and based on our sampling really good. I had the shrimp and grits and my wife had fish; both were great. Staff is friendly and the prices fair. we will be back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Ricky P, Owner at Joe's 2nd Street Bistro, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for the kind words and coming to see us. It was nice to meet you. We look forward to seeing you again. I am glad you tried the shrimp and grits. It is a new menu item for us and has become a favorite.
Mari and Ricky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernandina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great cheff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

great service and food,I'm local and never had problems,family owed , new owner you just have to try.was very well took care

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Ricky P, Owner at Joe's 2nd Street Bistro, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for the kind words. We are glad you had such a good time. Please let Mari or myself know next time you dine with us. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Mari and Ricky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
2 reviews
“Joe's Restaurant Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Small cozy friendly restaurant. I had Joe's gumbo as a starter and it was excellent and almost a meal itself. This was followed by seafood pasta which was delicious.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Ricky P, Owner at Joe's 2nd Street Bistro, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are glad that you had a good time and enjoyed our Gumbo. Being a little colder on Amelia Island this past few days, the Gumbo was a great choice (as a matter of fact I am enjoying a bowl right now). Mari and I look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Mari and Ricky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's 2nd Street Bistro also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Joe's 2nd Street Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's 2nd Street Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.