We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Date Night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of David's Restaurant & Lounge

David's Restaurant & Lounge
802 Ash Street, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
+1 904-310-6049
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
David's Restaurant & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $16 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: S. 8th St.
Description: The ART of Dining! At David's Restaurant we serve the finest seafood and meats available on Amelia Island. Our mouthwatering menu features a wide selections of delicious entrees such as Filet Oscar, Prime Rib, Rack of Lamb, Grilled Prime Rib Eye, & Veal Du Jour. On the Sea side Dover Sole, Truffle Scallops,Chilean Sea Bass & our Signature Dish: Seafood Risotto. Our elegant presentation & experienced wait staff makes dining at David's Restaurant a unique intimate dining experience. Attire: Resort casual. Wednesday's Lobster Feast 29.95, Thursday Happy Hour 5-9pm 1/2 priced Appetizers & Cocktails. Our lounge is pleased to specialize in the finest wines, liquors and cocktails, as well as offering live music on the weekends. Closed on Tuesdays.
Arkansas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Date Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hubby and I had a date night during our beach vacation. We looked carefully at several restaurant choices; hubby ended up choosing David's. I was a little hesitant after reading one review (not so much the review but the management's response) but I usually trust my husband's instincts.

We made reservations and were seated right away.

The whole dining experience was amazing.

I had the crab bisque. There are no words to describe how good it was.

We also loved the little treats that appeared throughout the meal, including chocolate covered strawberries at the very end. All nice "bonuses" for an already good meal.

I had the steak oscar. It was delicious; I ate every bite.

The servers were very attentive, the food was delicious, and the atmosphere was elegant but also comfortable.

We were both surprised to find such a fine dining experience at a beach locale...pleasantly so!

Oh, and yes, it is "pricey" but it is worth it. Every bite.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    187
    44
    15
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“One of the Best on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I've been coming to Amelia Island for over 20 years and dining out regularly. David's is one of the best restaurants currently on the island. Unlike anything in downtown Fernandina, it isn't crazy crowded with families. The atmosphere is terrifically soothing. The service was quick but not rushed. The food was wonderful. We had stuffed tomato and the avocado island appetizers and both were top notch. The savory tastings in between were wonderful and our entrees - veal marsala and Dover sole - were as good as any very nice restaurant in Manhattan. It is pricey, but no restaurant on the island matches the calm soothing, elegant atmosphere, great service and terrific food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Over-rated!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Elegant atmosphere, but service is slow and food is just ok. Very expensive! There are better fine dining choices on the island.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner1-GM, Owner at David's Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We appreciate your review and taking the time to write it. We are so sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I am glad that you enjoyed the atmosphere and do hope that you will give us another chance to exceed your expectations the next time your are on Amelia Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Beach
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Meal! Great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had dinner at the bar sat with Trist. He was very informative about the menu and made a great cucumber basil martini! We stored with carpaccio which was presented and tasted wonderful. Ordered fresh oysters which were presented in a appetizer spoon which made it so easy to eat. Wedge salad was wonderful with roasted tomatoes. My husband had a Prime Steak sandwich with gruyere cheese ,onions,mushrooms the mixture of flavors was very good. We finished with a white chocolate martini. Great dinner and Trist was so pleasant as a bartender.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best martinis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very plain brick building from the outside - beautiful on the inside. Wonderful stone architecture and gorgeous lighting on the interior. Service was impeccable. Food was top notch. Their wonderful bread is brought to your table in a small wooden chest and served with a pesto and an oil and vinegar dipping sauce. Baked brie appetizer was the best I have ever eaten. Our fish and scallop main dishes were perfect. Great drinks, wonderful ambience and top notch service. I highly recommend!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner1-GM, Owner at David's Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Wow, Thank you for such a wonderful review. Our entire staff appreciates the accolades and every review is presented and discussed daily during shift meeting. Thank you and we look forward to servicing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David's Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to David's Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage David's Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.