We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Salty Pelican Bar & Grill

The Salty Pelican Bar & Grill
12 N. Front St., Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
+1 904-277-3811
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A great place for Lunch and Dinner overlooking the Amelia River and a sunset view every night!
Midcoast Maine
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Good food great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

At lunch our food was great - oyster po'boy and special blackened mahi mahi wrap. The po'boy was served on a good roll with tomato and sauce and was excellent. With a great side of beans and rice it was $10. Add a $3 pint draft and this is not what I call pricey. The special was excellent, as was the service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    238
    73
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Valdosta, Georgia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lobster Rolls are delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

I've eaten here multiple times. The views from the upstairs outdoor bar are beautiful! The menu is somewhat limited but I enjoyed my meal each time. Today I ordered the lobster rolls and it was fabulous. I'll definitely be back for more.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful view, reasonably priced beers, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I have been to this restaurant 3 or 4 times now. The views are incredible for a late afternoon sunset. The beers are reasonably priced. The food is just fine, nothing special. I typically have shrimp or oyster po boy. It is a tad expensive but again, you are paying for the view. I recommend visiting this restaurant. Upper deck if you can get it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good food - great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This place is a little out of the way but worth looking for. We went here late on a Saturday afternoon for lunch. They have downstairs seating and upstairs seating. We opted for upstairs which was open and had a great view of harbor. For lunch the food was pricey: $11.00 for chicken fingers and $10.00 for fish tacos. But, wow, the portions were hugh - so much so that we skipped dinner later in the evening. The food was good, the service great and we defiately enjoyed our visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We ate here around 4pm on a Saturday evening. This place just opened up this fall. The service was good and the food was excellent. We had a blackened Mahi-Mahi sandwich with their own homemade Pelican sauce and sweet potato fries . Very good. Also had chicken tenders for $11, a little pricey but it was a huge platter. There is a nice view of the marina and real pelicans.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Salty Pelican Bar & Grill also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to The Salty Pelican Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Salty Pelican Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.