We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amelia Island Museum of History

Amelia Island Museum of History
233 South Third Street, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
904-261-7378
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum showcases the region's rich history under eight national flags.
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Surprising Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I wasn't too enthused about going to this museum, but my husband was curious, so I agreed. I was really amazed with the area's History and the unique way in which it was presented. Our docent was top notch, but humble and appreciated others input as well. Very nicely done!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    83
    22
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A rainy day project!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We took a 2 hour tour of this museum with our guide Michael who was a joy to be with and came away with much knowledge of the local history..in particular the "8 Flags" of Amelia. We highly recommend a visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“:)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

we did the hour guide through the eight flags and he was really knowledgeable it was really cool as well seeing the old prison

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Take the special tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We visited the museum last year and had a great time. We took the special guided tour and recieved a great presentation of the history of the region and Fernandina Beach. My wife and I both enjoy the historical background of Fernandina beach.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice for a little town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Nice place to learn about the town. Very interesting facts and place to visit. Great place for Adults and Kids to learn about the history of the city and people.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amelia Island Museum of History also viewed

 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Amelia Island Museum of History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amelia Island Museum of History, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.