We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a little town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amelia Island Museum of History

Amelia Island Museum of History
233 South Third Street, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
904-261-7378
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum showcases the region's rich history under eight national flags.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice for a little town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Nice place to learn about the town. Very interesting facts and place to visit. Great place for Adults and Kids to learn about the history of the city and people.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    75
    21
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Steubenville, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Wonderful history lesson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I took the 8 flags tour at the museum in mid-August. I wasn't sure what this tour was about, but I had the time and it was very hot outside so I decided to check it out.

The docent conducting the tour really knew her history and did an excellent job of explaining how the area was under the rule of 8 flags during different periods of time. I believe she indicated she was a former teacher. We moved to several different rooms during the hour plus tour.

I'm not sure this tour would be suitable for young children or adults, for that matter, if they tend to get restless or if you are on a schedule. The tour was long and at times I felt that I was in a classroom.

However, if you enjoy history and have extra time, this was very informative and a great history lesson.

I believe you can visit the museum without doing the tour if you want.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yulee, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A walk in history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

It takes you thru a trip dating back to when the indians lived there, and then the different flags that were raised and the pirates as well as the great shrimping industry.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise City, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The staff was awesome and they knew what they were talking about, they hadnt been opened for long but they had great stuff to see about the history of this great little town!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lots of histry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

It was very hot outside and my sister and I decided to take the tour of the museum. While aspects of the museum were informative the tour was boring - the person was a very poor narrator and if there had been more people in the tour we would have walked out.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amelia Island Museum of History also viewed

 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Amelia Island Museum of History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amelia Island Museum of History, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.