We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful history lesson” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amelia Island Museum of History

Amelia Island Museum of History
233 South Third Street, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
904-261-7378
Website
Improve this listing
Type: History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This museum showcases the region's rich history under eight national flags.
Steubenville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Wonderful history lesson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I took the 8 flags tour at the museum in mid-August. I wasn't sure what this tour was about, but I had the time and it was very hot outside so I decided to check it out.

The docent conducting the tour really knew her history and did an excellent job of explaining how the area was under the rule of 8 flags during different periods of time. I believe she indicated she was a former teacher. We moved to several different rooms during the hour plus tour.

I'm not sure this tour would be suitable for young children or adults, for that matter, if they tend to get restless or if you are on a schedule. The tour was long and at times I felt that I was in a classroom.

However, if you enjoy history and have extra time, this was very informative and a great history lesson.

I believe you can visit the museum without doing the tour if you want.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    55
    13
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Yulee, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A walk in history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

It takes you thru a trip dating back to when the indians lived there, and then the different flags that were raised and the pirates as well as the great shrimping industry.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise City, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The staff was awesome and they knew what they were talking about, they hadnt been opened for long but they had great stuff to see about the history of this great little town!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lots of histry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

It was very hot outside and my sister and I decided to take the tour of the museum. While aspects of the museum were informative the tour was boring - the person was a very poor narrator and if there had been more people in the tour we would have walked out.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“interesting and unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The old jail makes an excellent museum. The permanent exhibits tell a wonderful story about Amelia Island. The changing exhibits are varied and special. Great educational programs are offered each month.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amelia Island Museum of History also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Amelia Island Museum of History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amelia Island Museum of History, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Amelia Island Museum of History to your Saves list