We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of histry” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amelia Island Museum of History

Amelia Island Museum of History
233 South Third Street, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
904-261-7378
Website
Improve this listing
Type: History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This museum showcases the region's rich history under eight national flags.
Aurora, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lots of histry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

It was very hot outside and my sister and I decided to take the tour of the museum. While aspects of the museum were informative the tour was boring - the person was a very poor narrator and if there had been more people in the tour we would have walked out.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    64
    15
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“interesting and unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The old jail makes an excellent museum. The permanent exhibits tell a wonderful story about Amelia Island. The changing exhibits are varied and special. Great educational programs are offered each month.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocala
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Much to see in this little place. Save a lot of time.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Visiting local attractions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very well done. Local history presented in an informative way.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Kansas
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great history lesson!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We liked this museum for the history of the area. It is housed in the old jail. There are exhibits about how the island was found and named, what industries have been developed on the island, how people lived and worked on the island. There is a jail section where you can see the cells and hear some of the crime from the past and recent times. I thought it was very interesting. They have a nice gift shop with books about the area that I have been reading since I got back.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amelia Island Museum of History also viewed

 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Amelia Island Museum of History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amelia Island Museum of History, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.