We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect escape!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amelia Hotel at the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Amelia Hotel at the Beach to your Saves list
Amelia Hotel at the Beach
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   1997 South Fletcher Avenue, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
“Perfect escape!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

Clean rooms, amazing view, luxurious bed, thoughtful and helpful staff. We plan to come yearly!

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    175
    76
    28
    16
See reviews for
115
210
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

I found this hotel to be clean, well-maintained, and nicely situated across the street from the beach at a bargain price. We arrived without reservations because it was a slow period with plenty of availability. The desk clerk, David, was very friendly and forthcoming about different options for accommodations (he did not push us to accept the costliest room). Our room was spacious and updated with carpet and bedding in good condition and a wet bar area outfitted with a coffee maker and refrigerator (possibly also a microwave oven, but I do not recall). The hotel was quiet, perhaps in part because of low occupancy. The breakfast buffet was ample and of good quality.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
city island, new york
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

The rooms are big and they each have a coffee station with refrigerator. A basic buffet breakfast is given every morning with fresh baked cookies served in the afternoon. Coffee/tea is available 24/7. Its conveniently located right across the street from the beach. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only problem was the roaches. We found 2 in the bathroom and one in the hallway. This is the 2nd time I've stayed here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HollyAmeliaIsland, General Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
Thank you for your feedback and sharing your experience as a repeat guest. Please be assured that we have regularly scheduled maintenance from an extermination company as a preventative measure throughout our entire hotel. It is an extremely rare case that we ever receive report of any bugs in our guest rooms. Our records and reports from the staff do not show any receipt of complaint about bugs from the time frame indicated on your review. However, as with any business, we do rely on feedback from our guests any time there is an issue that we can address. Feel free to contact our management team any time you have questions or concerns during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

We loved this unpretentious little hotel. It was perfectly located right across the street from a nice restaurant and beach. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the TV set is huge, the staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a bit bland and the coffee could have been better but they do make cookies in the lobby every afternoon. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HollyAmeliaIsland, Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
I am so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed our "little gem" of a hotel and all it has to offer. In addition to knowing that guests really enjoy our great location, it's always nice to hear about the other amenities you enjoyed during your stay. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Amelia Island, and those delicious cookies will be waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

We could see the ocean from our balcony. The rooms are very nice. Staff very efficient and friendly. Shopping is very good at Amelia/Fernandina. Fort Clinch is worth a visit. Beaches are clean and beautiful. There is not a restaurant attached to the Motel but there are some within walking distance. The Hotel does provide health breakfast options.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

We stayed in the Terrace suite which was a huge and gorgeous room. It had a Jacuzzi tub, fireplace and a large balcony with a very good beach view. We have traveled all over the country and internationally and this boutique hotel was as nice as some 4 star hotels we have stayed in. The room had 2 Huge flat screen TV's, wet bar, 2 BR sinks, and a separate sitting area. We only had one complaint with some bedding and they fixed it immediately. My only suggestion would be to add some towel hooks to hang your towels on. I loved that they gave plenty of quality toiletries and soap, which many hotels are cutting back on. Breakfast was average. Not great but not bad. We have no problem with the free wi-fi. I hesistated to write a review because we want to keep this little gem a secret for ourselves. Loved the location mid-island to Amelia plantation, greenway, and the downtown. We will definitely be back and have reservations already for next year.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

The service at this hotel was wonderful. Check-in and check-out were quick and hassle free and the desk personnel were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Every time we came in or went out, we were greeted or sent on our way with friendly comments. Housekeeping staff were friendly as well. Everyone seemed genuinely concerned with our welfare and comfort.
Our room was one with a balcony. Not roomy, but big enough for two high, comfy chairs to lounge in. We enjoyed the breeze and the view of the ocean to the right and left. Across the street is a resturant which blocks what would be a fantastic view of the ocean.. This was the only negative - that and the noise from the street. There was a good bit of traffic.
Otherwise, the room was very confortable with the best mattress and pillows! We throughly enjoyed the large, flat screen TV, the microwave and mini refrigerator and, most of all, the jacuzzi in the bathroom. The room was very clean and neat.
Breakfast was delicious, with home-made biscuits, sausage and scrambled eggs, juices, muffins, waffles, french toast and the best coffee. Service personnel were very attentive and kept the food replinished.
The beach is right across the street with ample parking if you don't want to walk.
All in all, it was a wonderful stay, a good value and we are already looking forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amelia Hotel at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelia Hotel at the Beach

Address: 1997 South Fletcher Avenue, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amelia Hotel at the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amelia Hotel & Suites on Amelia Island features 86 rooms, some suites with whirlpool and balcony with partial views of the beach and ocean. We offer outdoor pool, complimentary Hot N Healthy breakfast and Wi-Fi Internet. The famous Amelia Island/Fernandina beaches are just steps from our front doors, and we are just minutes to the historical Fernandina downtown area, and of course, our renowned Fernandina Beach golf courses. We also have facilities for small meetings, Beach Weddings and family events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amelia Hotel at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amelia Island Hotel
Hotel Amelia Island
Amelia Hotel At The Beach Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amelia Hotel at the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.