We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Across From Main Public Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amelia Hotel at the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Amelia Hotel at the Beach to your Saves list
Amelia Hotel at the Beach
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   1997 South Fletcher Avenue, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Amelia Island, FL
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great Location Across From Main Public Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

If you are lucky enough to find Amelia Island, then you are lucky enough! This small hotel us a great alternative to the luxury resorts south of it. If you budget allows, stay at the Ritz or Omni on the island. If not, this little hotel cannot be beat for location.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We must agree with you, if you find Amelia Island you are lucky indeed. I am pleased we were able to give you a pleasant experience while visiting here in our piece of paradise. We hope you will come back to stay again! We look forward to hosting your next getaway!

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    163
    68
    27
    15
See reviews for
108
199
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We always enjoy our trip to Amelia Hotel. I agree with other guests on the hotel showing it's age- however, I recently saw on their FB that they have new carpet (which to me was the worst of the wear). We have been to Amelia several times and stayed at AHatB 3 times (my husband 4, as he stayed there the night before our wedding). The location could not be better. The room was clean and the staff is always friendly and attentive. This last time we had severe issues with the wi-fi, to the point we would step outside and just use our cellphone service to check emails/look for places to eat. We told the front desk what a pain it was and she noted it was being looked into. We don't go on vacation to stay on our phones and instead of being able to quickly handle something simple we had to go through an ordeal anytime we wanted to look up restaurants. We will go back- maybe with an air card next round!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for the review. We appreciate all feedback, and try to use it to better serve our guests in the future. PLease come back and stay again. I think you will appreciate the changes being made.

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This is not a fancy hotel and its a bit tired in the main areas of the hotel. However, our room and bed were comfortable. There is a frig and microwave in the room. We actually had a view of the ocean, which was very nice. We also were directly across the street from a decent bar called Sliders and the public beach. They had the typical breakfast bar which is good in a pinch.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for your review. I do hope you come back once our new flooring is complete. We are very excited about the improvements that are being made around the hotel. I look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed at the Amelia Hotel at the Beach and I'm not sure what I was expecting but maybe something a little more updated. The carpet in the hallways is very worn and faded; the rooms look like they've seen some piece-meal updates but it just wasn't the quality we were expecting.

The location is great, across the street from the beach. The support staff are excellent, and really responsive to requests. They're trying hard - I have to give them credit for their hard work.

One area in particular I just couldn't get over was the linens. The bed linens were poor at best. There was no fitted sheet or mattress pad. And the sheet put on the mattress must have been a queen size (instead of king) because it kept coming up in the middle of the night, exposing the mattress. No duvet cover over the comforter - just sheets again and those came off of it easily too. Just doesn't feel very sanitary.

Also, seemed somewhat stingy with bath towels, provided one per person - no extras and sometimes we didn't get hand towels. Not the biggest deal but sometimes inconvenient if you just need an extra towel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry we did not meet your standards. You are correct about our carpeting, and in fact it is being replaced this week. We will have new carpeting on all three floors, as well as some other upgrades. The towel situation is distressing, and for future reference you can always call the front desk for anything extra you need, and we will happily bring it to you. I have shared with housekeeping your issues with the towels, but we can find no room that is without a mattress pad. If you don't mind calling to let me know which room you stayed in, I can follow up on that as well.

I hope you do come back to stay with us again. We really appreciate your input, and are always working to improve our guest's stay. We would love to have another chance to give you a different impression.

Sincerely,
K. Bennett
Management Amelia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We came to attend a memorial for a friend who used to live on the island. The hotel allowed us to check in early since our flight arrived earlier and we needed to change to attend the memorial. We found the hotel's location to be excellent! Across the street from the beach which is calming even when it's a bit chilly still in northern Florida. It's also across from a seafood restaurant with good food and service. The hotel also serves a good morning breakfast and has a good size refrigerator and microwave in the room. You can walk to stores and many other places since many are located across the street and down the street.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope the next visit will be warmer, and you can enjoy all the island has to offer. We look forward to hosting you in the future.

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

My mother-in-law came to visit and could not climb the stairs up into our beach home. She stayed at the Amelia Hotel and really enjoyed herself. The room was very clean, comfortable and the staff was very helpful and sweet. We had trouble getting her to come with us for breakfast because she said she had a nice breakfast at the Hotel. Thank you very much for taking such great care of her. She already wants to come back and stay at her Hotel again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you so very much for the kind review. We try to treat all of our guests like they are at home, so it is nice to hear we succeeded in your mother's case.
We have many locals whose families stay with us while they visit. It warms our heart to know that we are appreciated.
We look forward to her next visit. Thank you again for the vote of confidence.

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hall, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The lobby is nice and clean. That's about all the nice things I can say. Do not get suckered into "Ocean View". It is a scam. You can see the ocean and you can also see the dirty restaurant that is actually on the beach. This Hotel is not on the beach. The hallways are dingy and dirty. I posted pictures of dirtybeds in the stairwell.
The hot and healthy breakfast was neither hot nor healthy. The staff was very rude. The man who checked us out on Jan. 27 should not even be in customer service. To put it one way he was just not a nice man. There are other places to go in FL. Save your money don't stop here.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
We apologize your stay was not up to your standards. We do not advertise as being on the beach. We are across the street from the beach. We advertise our property as just that, across the street. Our ocean views are partial ocean views because of our location, and in all descriptions they are defined as partial ocean views.
I am saddened to hear of your experience with our staff, because as you can read from other reviews, almost everyone finds them friendly and helpful.
Our breakfast contains eggs, sausage and biscuits, made fresh and served hot each day, as well as yogurt, fresh fruit, and other options. There is something for everyone.
Yes, there was a mattress stored in our back stairwell as we waited for the wet weather to cease so we could move it out. We are actively doing updates in our off season, and we did replace some mattresses. That is a good thing, and unfortunately for us, Mother Nature sometimes does not co-operate.
I wish you would have taken the opportunity to speak with management about your experience. I have had no contact from anyone experiencing the issues that you state here on Tripadvisor. Again we do apologize that your stay was anything less than satisfactory.

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amelia Hotel at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelia Hotel at the Beach

Address: 1997 South Fletcher Avenue, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amelia Hotel at the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amelia Hotel & Suites on Amelia Island features 86 rooms, some suites with whirlpool and balcony with partial views of the beach and ocean. We offer outdoor pool, complimentary Hot N Healthy breakfast and Wi-Fi Internet. The famous Amelia Island/Fernandina beaches are just steps from our front doors, and we are just minutes to the historical Fernandina downtown area, and of course, our renowned Fernandina Beach golf courses. We also have facilities for small meetings, Beach Weddings and family events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Amelia Hotel at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amelia Island Hotel
Hotel Amelia Island
Amelia Hotel At The Beach Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amelia Hotel at the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.