We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUR AMELIA BREAK” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amelia Hotel at the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Amelia Hotel at the Beach to your Saves list
Amelia Hotel at the Beach
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   1997 South Fletcher Avenue, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Cocoa Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“OUR AMELIA BREAK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and i both work in the hotel business so we totally understand the highs and lows of the hospitality industry.Spent two days at the amelia hotel and what a great location.Breakfast was fantastic and susan(brfst attendant) did a fantastic job in the breakfast area.It's sad to see a lot of hotels doing away with a complimentary breakfast.Some of the bloody hotel owners are just getting too f... greedy.The rooms were well thought of The only thing we noticed was the carpets on the floors were a little old(in the reception and hallway areas) ,apart from that what a great little hotel.Management and staff keep up the great work.We will recommend people to visit you folks when they head up to amelia island.Thanx for 2 great days

Room Tip: rm 330 or any of their oceanview rms from the second floor up are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for such a great review of our hotel! We appreciate our guests so much, and try to show them by making may things the large corpoorate hotels charge for complimentary. We really want you to just come and enjoy our island, without stress. I am so happy our staff gave you great treatment. They really are some of the best around! Please come back and visit agin soon. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    172
    76
    28
    15
See reviews for
114
208
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

First the staff. Terrific. Front desk folks jumped to help me, always responsive, great recommendations for food and other location-based questions, etc. The outside of the building had great paint, just like in the photo. Then the differences.

The interior is a bit dated and run-down. The room I was in smelled like someone just emptied a can of roach spray. The place was clean--don't get me wrong. And the bed/pillows were nice. The deck was small, chairs rusty, and the hotel is "not" on the beach--it is across the street with a restaurant between it. The swimming pool is right in the parking lot--no privacy at all.

For a family looking for a convenient place for a vacation, I think it is sufficient but a bit on the pricy side. The only reason I actually stayed here was due to a business function selling out rooms at a nicer resort close by. This seemed to me like the next best thing based on ads and photos.

I think if the hallways, carpets, and rooms were upgraded (and decent internet was available), it would have been a better value.

Bottom line--great service, good place to rest your head, and very close to the beach and good bars and restaurants. If you're looking for something that rivals quality equal or better to a Residence Inn, Holiday Inn Express, or Courtyard, you'll find it to be closer to a Hampton or Red Roof in my opinion. I travel 50 times per year so I know what other properties are like.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
I appreciate your very candid review. I am happy our staff gave you the great treatment you deserve. We are across the street from the beach, but as you found out so very close. Just a walk across the street and your toes are in the sand. The rates for all the local hotels are higher during the summer months, because it is so very busy on our little island, but most resort rooms run $350-$400 a night, so I think we are a very affordable option. I would suggest a visit in the fall and winter months. The weather is still fantastic, but the rates are much lower, and the island has less visitors. We will be updating the interiors after the high season, so I hope you will come and see the new and improved look. Thank you again-

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We booked this hotel using their website pictures. We were very disappointed when we arrived. The pictures did not reflect the hotel as a whole. The carpet was dirty and the rooms were worn down. It looked as though we were at a very cheap hotel. There was nothing luxurious about it. The best thing about it was the location and the staff. The staff was very polite, but the hotel need a major overhaul!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
I am very sorry to hear you were disappointed with the hotel. We really strive to give everyone the best possible experience. Since you use Tripadvisor, you can always look at the guest's pictures they post. They are accurate pictures of our hotel. We hope you will come and stay with us again. We will being doing some updates after the high season, so our appearance will be refreshed.

Thank you for taking the time to voice your opinion. We do appreciate all feedback.
Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Picked this hotel for a business trip. Front desk staff were phenominal and friendly beyond belief. They have a bar set up by the front desk where happy hour is served daily. The bar is not fancy by any means, but they have everything you might want for an afternnon cocktail. The Hotel is right across the street from the beach where there is vehicle access to drive on the beach. There is also a resturant across the street that had a nightly band. Also included, is daily breakfast that icluded eggs, sausage, cereals, muffins, the normal hotel breakfast goods. The only drawback if it was one is that the Hotel is outdated and needs an inside makeover. The hallway carpets were terribly worn. The room however was not. Had a huge comfy bed, fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. This Hotel satisfied all our needs and the friendliness of the staff just added to the delight.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
We appreciate your review. I am glad we were able to give you the service you desired. I have shared with management your issues with the updating of the hotel. Every year after the season we do have to replace carpeting from all the love our guests give it while traveling back and forth to the beach lugging surfboards, chairs,coolers, children, etc... Please come back again, and hopefully our updates will be in place. We look forward to your next visit-

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The staff at the hotel day and night are INCREDIBLE!!! They are always helpful and willing to do whatever needed to make the stay a special one. Nice rooms, very clean and affordable. Sliders is across the street and you even get a discount with your room key. A plus!!! Great daily breakfast at the hotel makes for a nice start. I will continue to go to Fernandina Beach instead of Panama City. And will ALWAYS stay at Amelia Hotel at the Beach!!! Thanks for making our vacation a great experience. I will definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! I am happy you enjoyed yourself while here with us. I think our staff is great, so I am glad they gave you the service you deserved. Please come back and visit soon and often!

Best Regards!
Management Amelia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I decided to take a weekend away and travel to a place that would be peaceful. Staying at Amelia Hotel at the Beach helped us do just that! The location is as it says: at the beach. We crossed the street to get to the beach and enjoy the island's lack of crowds. Everyone that spoke to us at the hotel was pleasant and amiable. The bed was soft and we fell asleep as soon as we laid our heads on the fluffy pillows. We woke up to a hot breakfast with many options. We had cookies greeting us during the day and when it was hot, there was ice cold water with lemon available. The staff was excited to give us ideas on what to do at the island and also gave advice on when to take advantage of certain opportunities. We smiled with glee during this trip, almost brought to tears of how perfect it was and we want to thank the staff at Amelia Hotel at the Beach for helping us enjoy that beautiful weekend!! Thank you. We look forward to seeing you all again and this time taking advantage of the free beach chairs and towels!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for the glowing review. We always strive to give each of our guests a very memorable experience, so I am pleased we were able to succeed with your visit. Please come back again soon. There are many great festivals throughout the fall months, and the weather is fantastic! We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Unfortunately I based my stay on comments of prior reviews and the very slick web ad, my mistake. While the rooms were clean and the staff helpful, the hotel is overpriced and in need of a face lift. The communal areas are just worn out and dirty and also in need of fresh paint (as well as the rooms). The pool is small and has a low area growing green slime. Extra fees and rules will cost you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
While we appreciate you taking the time to leave a review, I am wondering exactly what your issue was with our establishment. You have said on one hand the rooms are clean, then in the next sentence say they were dirty and in need of paint. You state that extra fees will cost you, but we charge no extra fees, unless you smoke in our rooms or sneak in your pet for a night. We are by far one of the most reasonably priced hotels on the island, with a plethora of complimentary amenities. Our pool is cleaned daily, and inspected often. I would appreciate you calling and speaking with us directly, so we can see when and where you stayed, and exactly what extra fees you were charged for. We look forward to speaking with you.

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amelia Hotel at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelia Hotel at the Beach

Address: 1997 South Fletcher Avenue, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amelia Hotel at the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amelia Hotel & Suites on Amelia Island features 86 rooms, some suites with whirlpool and balcony with partial views of the beach and ocean. We offer outdoor pool, complimentary Hot N Healthy breakfast and Wi-Fi Internet. The famous Amelia Island/Fernandina beaches are just steps from our front doors, and we are just minutes to the historical Fernandina downtown area, and of course, our renowned Fernandina Beach golf courses. We also have facilities for small meetings, Beach Weddings and family events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Amelia Hotel at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amelia Island Hotel
Hotel Amelia Island
Amelia Hotel At The Beach Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amelia Hotel at the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.