We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Comfort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amelia Hotel at the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Amelia Hotel at the Beach to your Saves list
Amelia Hotel at the Beach
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   1997 South Fletcher Avenue, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Orlando, Fl
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Affordable Comfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed here with my husband 4 days in mid July. I booked through Tingo $88/night. Lowest price for great comfort. Located across the street from the beach I did not book a "partial oceanview" room. The Sliders restaurant which is across and in front of rooms with supposed oceanview will block any view. This is a 3story hotel. Maybe top floor can see a bit of ocean. My room had a king sized bed with good sheets and pillows. It was spacious for us. The microwave sits atop a counter with a sink with coffeemaker. The fridge worked great. The bathroom was a good size as well. Granite countertops with lotions and shampoos. The toilet does not have a lid. Perhaps this is a personal pet peeve but for sanitary reasons I would have preferred a lid. The location is excellent. Proximity to Sadler road and nearby restaurants like DQ, Zaxbys, Mcd's and BK is less than 5 min. Publix and Walmart closeby. Skip the restaurant Cedar River!(see my review). Visit "Main Beach"by car and enjoy the amenities there along with the Sandy Bottom restaurant which is really really on the beach.

There is no in-room safe but Front Desk does have one. The Free Free did I say YES free!! breakfast is the same everyday and is pretty good. Casey is extremely friendly and helpful. Remember to ask for Menus and coupons when you check in for delivery like Papa Johns (yummy). The best thing I appreciated was the free beach chairs and beach towels offered at the front desk!! The pool is enclosed in the parking area and we did not use it. It wasnt appealing enough but looked clean with plenty of chairs.

Room Tip: 129 end of hall. Near exit and parking was convenient. No noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your time here on the island, and at our hotel. For clarification, our rooms on the ocean side are partial ocean view, because of the restaurant, but the further down you go, the better the view. Many of our guests prefer the non ocean side, because they are a little quieter. Please come and visit again soon. During the off season, we offer great rates for all of our rooms, and the weather on the island is wonderful! There are also many festivals through out the off season for you to enjoy!

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    161
    67
    27
    15
See reviews for
105
196
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed at the Amelia Hotel at the Beach not expecting much and hoping not to stay at a chain motel but a different setting, and we had a really fun time. First, the ocean is just across the street and the hotel is really clean and spacious. Rooms are huge and beds even more so. Good breakfast (not continental) with eggs, biscuits and sausage; cereals and different pastries. Afternoon soft baked cookies are also available which is awesome!!

The things I didn't like? The common areas seem a bit worn down, that could be easily fixed by changing the old, worn down carpet outside (wink, wink management). Nobody told us about the use of towels and chairs to go to the beach so we always went and sat on our clothes.

The best part is that you get an AWESOME price (by Amelia standards) for a good place.

Overall people were really friendly and service was great, we had a really nice time at the hotel. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful words! I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Please come and stay again soon!

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were very impressed by the outside, but when we went inside it is very tired. We got a balcony room but the balcony was full of water from the a/c and it wasn't even big enought for a table. Only 2 high bar seats were out there. The pool was small for the hotel size.The hotel is across the street from the beach and near lots of places to eat. But wouldn't stay here again. Oh and I had to buy mildew spray to put on the shower. Not worth what I paid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I wish you would have let someone know of the issues with your room. We have no notes of anything being wrong. I am surprised by the mildew comment, we never have complaints of mildew in any of our rooms. I have shared your comments with our housekeeping supervisor, and I apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I don't understand some of the negative reviews here. We were able to check in early, at about 1:30. The room was large and clean. The chain hotels now feature those stupid square pillows on the bed, but here they had regular-sized pillows and big ones, and the bed was very comfy. The bathroom was nice as well. At the last hotel we stayed at, they had some sort of water saver on the shower; here you get a full blast of water for your shower. The air conditioner worked great. The breakfast was good. We were given chairs and towels to take to the beach, which is one of the best walking beaches I've been on. There were fresh cookies out at 4:00 and later, we got a great margarita for $4 from the front desk and sat on the rocking chairs and enjoyed the view. The staff couldn't have been nicer.

Years ago we stayed at a B&B on Amelia Island and it cost about $160 a night more. We won't be back there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
I am so pleased to hear you had a pleasant experience . We always try to honor early check ins when possible, and even if you can't check in early, you can hang out at the pool or the beach until your room is ready.
Please come back and visit us again soon. There are many great festivals coming up through the fall months, and that time of year the weather is fantastic! We look forward to your next stay~

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Fl
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The biggest problem was not getting in the room, even at the latest time quoted which was 4pm. Finally someone checked around 4:30 and our room was ready. I did have to call and have the floor recleaned as something was messy and sticky all over the tile floor.
The room is large, king bed, large screen TV...but difficult to get on. We had to call someone as the TV remote is weird and you have to push one button, and that activates another....but they don't let you know the secret! The furniture had several broken knobs on the drawers, so they were just put inside the drawer...oh well...seems like they should fix them.
The room was clean, shampoo, conditioner and body lotion are supplied. Hair dryer is powerful, towels clean and of good condition. There is a refrigerator, microwave and small kitchen sink area with a coffeemaker. They supply Starbucks coffee packs, but they forget that each pack also needs the separate sugar and creamer, so we had the coffee, but only one sugar pack.
Breakfast was better than most with sausage, eggs, muffins and toaster type french toast and waffles. Not fancy, but good, with of course the cereals and yogurt as well.
There were alot of small children, as the families were able to get one room with the two doubles at a decent price.
Location is across from the beach. Our best meal was at Sliders right across the street. That was the only real restaurant in the area. The rest of the restaurants are about 5 miles away in downtown area.
We had a balcony room, not sure if it was worth it as the view was of the dumpsters across the street at Sliders. Probably would have an ocean view from the regular rooms. The balcony is narrow, only two chairs, no table.
They do have sand chairs and supply beach towels, but if you like a regular chair I suggest you bring your own or rent one across the street. The pool is small, not very fancy or resort like....just a motel type pool.
Hotel exterior needs some repair, maybe some more rockers outside and a few tables. I think they need to plan for busy times and hire more help to make sure you get in your room earlier. Other than that it was a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Get the high number room if you want a balcony with view. We had 312 and view was of dumpster. Hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for the very detailed review. I actually was the one helping you get into your room, after an extremely busy 4th of July weekend. There was a delay, to which we did apologize, but we were trying to honor your request of having rooms right next to each other so you would be with your friends. Of course, there is no excuse for you being delayed, and we do apologize again.
There are a few other restaurants within walking distance for you to enjoy, but Sliders is the closest with the best location.
You are correct on the area of the balcony rooms. They are located in the middle of the hotel, and host a partial ocean view, which is what we state. In the future you can reserve one of our Terrace Suite, which hosts a more direct view because it is off the corner of the hotel, with no obstructions.
I have also shared with housekeeping your issues with the room. I hope that when you return you do not encounter any of the negative things you did on this visit.

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Hotel was ok. Rooms clean, but very outdated. Free breakfast good, Hotel is right across street from ocean and Sliders restaurant. Airport is only 25 min. away, which was nice. Beds comfortable, but pillows very lumpy. Fire alarm went off on our second night at 4 a.m. Fire trucks, police came, people up and down the halls trying to figure out what to do. Next morning manager said she didn't know what happened, but I believe she did. Asked some other people, and they said they heard someone burned something in a micro. Hotel should have informed everyone of what happened. Alarm kept going off a few more times. Hotel has beach towels and some chairs for use at the beach, and store across street rents them also. Beach really nice, and clean. Heather and Casey at front desk very helpful with our missed flight and our being forced to stay first night in Atlanta, and our booked room moved to following night, and extended our stay, so we could still stay 3 nights.

Room Tip: Top-3rd floor quietest, if no fire alarms go off. Our room was right next to the elevator and it did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, with the exception of the fire alarm issue. I have spoken with our staff as to how better to handle the situation if it ever happens again. There were many reasons why the alarm was triggered circulating, but suffice it to say, we could have spent more time ensuring all of our guests knew it was a false alarm. We did offer everyone a coupon for a return stay at a discounted price. Please contact us if you did not receive one. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to host your family in the future.

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amelia Hotel at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelia Hotel at the Beach

Address: 1997 South Fletcher Avenue, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amelia Hotel at the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amelia Hotel & Suites on Amelia Island features 86 rooms, some suites with whirlpool and balcony with partial views of the beach and ocean. We offer outdoor pool, complimentary Hot N Healthy breakfast and Wi-Fi Internet. The famous Amelia Island/Fernandina beaches are just steps from our front doors, and we are just minutes to the historical Fernandina downtown area, and of course, our renowned Fernandina Beach golf courses. We also have facilities for small meetings, Beach Weddings and family events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Amelia Hotel at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amelia Island Hotel
Hotel Amelia Island
Amelia Hotel At The Beach Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amelia Hotel at the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.