We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Diner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doo Wop Diner

Doo Wop Diner
1120 South 14th Street, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL
(904) 432-8400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Fernandina Beach Fl
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good Diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The theme is the early days of Rock and Roll. A lot old records and posters. Food is good old fashioned dinner food. No surprises , Simple and good, friendly service , clean and fairly priced. Next to the only movie house on the island.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    12
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yulee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I do have something good to say”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have eaten lunch at this place about 6 times. I tried a number of sandwiches and burgers here and was always disappointed. Really seemed overprice for what you were getting, A couple bucks more and you can get a table overlooking the beach and ocean and get better food This place is in a somewhat shabby plaza. No contest.
Ok, now that has been said. I have found something I like about the doo wop diner..... and I go back for. You have to order one of the "home style" meals. They do fried pork chops, meatloaf, turkey dinner. You get mashed potatoes, gravy some canned green beans. Pretty good Hearty Dinner food. I think price was 7.99 or 8.99. So there it is forget the sandwhich.or burger... The meal is the way to go. Not gourmet but good American dinner food at the right price.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“PeoplePlace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We liked The Good food, good service, fair pricing. Well supervised, friendly workers. Ample parking and seating.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yulee, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Eh, only if your starving....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Over priced. Food was just ok. Pancakes were below average. Scrambled eggs appreared and tasted like precooked. Not what I expected for $10+ per person.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yulee Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“greasy spoon”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

stopped in for a quick breakfast with the family and quickly remembered why we didnt like the place on A1A. The staff all look like they hate thier jobs, meat was very greasy, pancakes dry and rubbery. the only thing that looked cooked to order was the eggs, everything else seems to be premade and microwaved. very over priced

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doo Wop Diner also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Doo Wop Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doo Wop Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.