We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget Five Guys... :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tasty's Fresh Burgers and Fries

Tasty's Fresh Burgers and Fries
710 Centre St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-3941
904-321-0409
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Forget Five Guys... :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is a converted gas station that serves up delicious burgers and unbelievable sweet potato fries! I have also had their shrimp roll - and found it exception! This place is casual and fun. The only problem is seating... there isn't much - and if you sit outside on one of the picnic tables the truck traffic heading to the paper mill is pretty annoying. Still though - well worth it for the food! This is our first stop every time we drive down to the island from Maryland!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    86
    26
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Freaking AMAZING!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Run, don't walk, to Tasty's in Downtown Fernandina! Our family has just enjoyed the most delicious and satisfying lunch. The atmosphere, service and decor were all warm and welcoming. Our boys (13 & 16) said that their Carolina Burgers were "one of the best hamburgers" they have ever had. My East Coast Shrimp Roll was absolutely delicious with the freshest shrimp, crisp celery and the perfect amount of mayo on toasted buns. My husband got a terrific Kraut Dog too. Each entree can with the PERFECT fries. We all shared a wonderful caramel milkshake. I swear, if we lived here full time we would have our own parking place (and weigh a lot more!). Thank you for so clearly loving what you do and for being so GOOD at it! Congratulations on "Burger of the Year"!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Little Burger Joint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Don't be fooled by the exterior, though cute, it is inside a former corner gas station. Daily specials and burgers of all kinds. Well prepared, and what I call a real burger, seemed to be fresh meat, great bread, and all the right condiments. Top that with sweet potatoe fries and you will leave stuffed. They offer the burgers in different sizes, but the small ones worked fine for us. Tons of locals there, so that tells you something. Great little place for a lunch or dinner. Would definitely return there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wow.....what a burger!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Delicious burgers cooked to perfection in a spotlessly clean building. The servers are young but very knowledgeable of the products they are selling. Fries are excellent as well. We'll be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta ga
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Mmm..mom..Tasty Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Hamburgers are hand pattied and made with real Angus beef...this is fast food? Great flavor, moist but not greasy. Didn't cover up the beef with too many seasonings. French fries are hand cut, seasoned well and not greasy. Beware a very large portion, so plan to share with someone. The sweet potato fries are great. You may select plain, spicy or sweet. I choose sweet and it was like a candied yam in a very unique way. A serendipity was the corn and crab chowder! I didn't expect to find the chowder on the menu of a hamburger diner, especially since it had the flavor of a fine dining restaurant! This was the highlight. It was light, not overpowered with crab or corn, but had crab in each spoonful. The service of the young men who took our order was excellent and their customer friendly attitudes was outstanding! Will definitely come back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasty's Fresh Burgers and Fries also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Tasty's Fresh Burgers and Fries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tasty's Fresh Burgers and Fries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.