We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly Place” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   19 South Second Street, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save Online
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Avon Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Unfriendly Place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My daughter and I spent the night at this hotel and I have to say we were greatly disappointed by their unfriendly staff. While checking in the man didn't even say hello, thank you, have a nice day, nothing! Then he didn't even tell me which room I had! What a sloppy reception! Did not make me want to stay here again. The room was clean and adequeate, but the AC didn't cool the room off. I had it on 65 and still got warm. The train woke my daughter up several times and myself once. I don't know why they have to blow the horn that late at night. I know there are rules in some towns that they can't blow their horn after 10pm. Do NOT stay on the 2nd floor. It is the breakfast and pool floor and people were complaining about being woken up early and kept up late. The third floor was pretty quiet. The breakfast bar was so crowded we opted for yogart on the run. It was also about 100 degrees in there, they even had fans running trying to cool it off. In short they have an AC problem! For the money $170, it was not worth it. There are plenty of other places that are friendly and helpful that are a lot cheaper. Also there are very few parking spaces at this hotel and you have to park on the street!

Room Tip: Third floor is quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob R R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We know how important it is to create a comfortable and relaxing environment for our guests and I regret to hear your stay with us was not more enjoyable. Your feedback will help us as we continue to make improvements to our hotel amenities and services. We're addressing your concerns with our team and additional training opportunities will be available to ensure we're meeting our expectations for 100% satisfaction guaranteed. Please feel free to contact me to discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    198
    40
    11
    7
See reviews for
126
314
23
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glennville, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Lovely hotel. Feel like your uptown in downtown historical Fernandina. This hotel has class and charm that takes you back to the good old days with modern amenities. The location for nightlife and dinning is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

You know what to expect at a Hampton Inn and Suites and we were not disappointed-lovely welcome and nice room exactly as requested. Very small pool and sun terrace area. Very attractive breakfast room with coffee available all day.
The town is very quaint and well preserved with lots of places to eat well and very few if any chain restauarants in the town itself--plenty as you come in off the Interstate of course
Downsides--well they do warn you that the railroad is right outside and they apparently have train movements twice a day which are very noisy-didnt bother us and we didnt hear anything during the night. The beach is a way off but plenty of public parking and a very nice beach for walking and running. We would visit here again

Room Tip: If possible nightime train noise is a worry ask to be well away from the track side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

While my husband was engaged for a two day educational seminar, I roamed the historic district of Fernandina Beach, shopping and partaking of the many culinary goodies the area offers. After this stay, we will be sure to seek out the sister properties Hampton Inns has since our experience here was so positive.

Room Tip: We stayed on the quiet side, which did NOT overlook the water with the attendant train running throu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

If you are looking for quick trip, this is a great location to unwind. The people are friendly and there is something in the shops for everyone. Took the family on a work trip. Everyone had a good time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, SC
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

For the price, this place was GREAT! I had the two nights prior at the Omni at the other end of the island and to be honest, the room was as good at Hampton Inn. (Okay grounds at Omni are beautiful but I'm just talking room here) I did not have a reservation and came in before check-out time so they didn't have any rooms available at the time, but the manager was very accommodating and said to give them a couple of hours and to come back and they would have something ready. He also gave me a bottle of water since it was going to be the hottest day they'd had yet. When I did return, an excellent room was prepared for me and I was able to unpack and enjoy the rest of my quickie overnight jaunt. This place is in the heart of the historic district and is in easy walking distance to many restaurants, bars, boating activities...perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the historic district. We requested a room on the "quieter" side of the hotel after reading reviews of people that were bothered by frequent trains going by. We only heard one and it was in the morning after we were already awake, so it wasn't an issue. We were greeted by a welcoming clerk at the front desk who also gave us helpful tips about restaurants and how to get to various attractions in the area. The room was clean, and we had plenty of fluffy towels. They have delicious fresh-baked cookies in the lobby as well as coffee. We had no trouble finding a parking spot in the lot and it was great to be able to leave the car there and walk to various shops and restaurants. I do feel though, that the walls are thin as we were able to hear the people in the next room. Fortunately, they did not stay up late! The breakfast is included in the very reasonable room rate and provides many options, such as fresh fruit, cereal, bacon, eggs, bagels, juice etc. and there are also two waffle machines. The beds were very comfortable. This hotel is a very good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front

Address: 19 South Second Street, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Amelia Island
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island
Hampton Inn Fernandina Beach
Fernandina Beach Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front Fernandina Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.