We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   19 South Second Street, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save!
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

What a great little "old Florida" town...and what a great hotel that fits it perfectly. Step back in time, get off the freeway and just move at your own pace. I'm almost afraid to share this charming and "secret" getaway. Just steps away from the harborfront on the Intracoastal that offers a great restaurant on the pier with stunning sunset views (in addition to the excellent restaurant choices in the old town itself)...and an a great choice of affordable several hour cruises (more later.. but taking one is a "must do" as part of your stay), this Hampton offers the value and all the great service you expect from Hampton Inns in a perfect location to just deliciously remove yourself from day to day modern world reality.. For those who still prefer today's comforts and conveniences in their lodgings (elevators, comfortable beds, wi-fi, modern plumbing) in an old world setting--at an astounding value price, especially mid-week), this Hampton can't be beat. That said, DON'T miss taking a river cruise. We took the afternoon hour and a half cruise to Cumberland Island...saw the wild horses, the mansion ruins, dolphins (two weeks shy of the manatee season based on water temperatures), as well as a special ops sub heading out to sea from KingsBay.. all with absolutely great narration by the captain who gave a great perspective on Amelia Island's foundations when it was a wild frontier port city on the boundary of the US (Georgia) and New Spain. (Florida)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    254
    51
    15
    8
See reviews for
187
415
30
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We checked in 23 April 2013 for 3 nights. Everything was clean. Lots of choices at breakfast, and the area was kept spotless. Location was perfect for sightseeing. If you're going more for the beach, the other location might be better. It was very much like the Hamptons we've stayed in before - not a resort atmosphere, but spotlessly clean if you just need a place to sleep.

Room Tip: We were on the 1st floor near the back door. Really convenient to the car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
215 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel is really wonderful, friendlyand perfectly located for visiting this historic town. Your close to unique shops, excellent restaurants (my favorite is Joe's 2nd Street Bistro across the street from the hotel) and historic homes with lots of "gingerbread".

I'm so impressed with our hotel. Rooms are very clean, large with a microwave and fridge. The lobby is worth taking a photo off...especially the ceiling above the grand staircase.

Now to rave about Todd on th 3 - 11 shift at the front desk. The help he gave to my group was so appreciated and always with a smile. Todd gives the type of hotel service you wish you received at all your hotel stays anywhere you travel.

If you are boarding an trip with American Cruise Lines beginning on Amelia Island, Hampton Inn Historic District in Fernandina Beach, is where you want to stay. The dock is right across the street from the rear of the hotel. The morning of your boarding, the ship's porter comes over to retrieve your luggage and takes it to your staterooms.

Cruise or no cruise and in any season, you must come to Fernandina Beach on Amelia Island and stay at this hotel...then have have a terrific time in this quaint town. You can also take a carriage ride to view the magnificent historic district or just enjoy a relaxing walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I loved my room ... it was REALLY clean and had a jacuzzi tub and a fireplace!!! And, it was nice that I could turn the heat on during the chilly evenings (using a thermostat I controlled in my room)!!!!! Thanks for a wonderful experience Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstable, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

All in all not a bad place to stay if you like being near the water and downtown as we did. We found the front desk staff to be less than cordial and attentive, and the breakfast staff even moreso. The hot tub in our suite didn't work but since we weren't in the room much it wasn't a big deal. Clean accomodations and wifi but if you're looking for something that goes the extra mile, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. The staff is so welcoming and you can't beat the location. You are walking distance from all of the main shops and restaurants. I think this room well exceeded our expectations for the price we paid, especially when compared to similarly priced hotels in the area. I wasn't sure what to expect but I was surprised and impressed!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was a nice hotel, located next to the city marina and the historic district of pleasant Fernandina Beach. The rooms were quiet, with secured access to guest areas. The complimentary breakfast was clean with good choices. The fitness room was clean with good equipment. The staff was pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fernandina Beach hotels
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Amelia Island
Residence Inn by Marriott Amelia...
#1 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#4 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#9 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
2.0 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#3 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 435 reviews
2.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island
#11 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front

Address: 19 South Second Street, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Amelia Island
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island
Hampton Inn Fernandina Beach
Fernandina Beach Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front Fernandina Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.