We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL HOTEL AND GORGEOUS BEACH” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   4750 Amelia Island Parkway, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-5501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$500 Resort Credit
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Fernandina Beach
BOSTON
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL HOTEL AND GORGEOUS BEACH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

MY HUSBAND AND I SPENT OUR ANNIVERSARY WEEKEND HERE (MEMORIAL DAY WEEKEND)
Arrived on Thursday stayed until Tuesday...We had such a great time...The staff was wonderful..The hotel beautiful and the beach and pool spectacular! We also cab'd over to downtown to all shops and the oldest saloon...watch out for the PIRATES PUNCH! Our friends joined us for a couple of days which was lots of fun...watched Bruins game in sports bar at hotel(we won!) Had dinner one night at the Grill (delicious)...massage at Spa (fantastic)...the room was great overlooking the pool Room 759...After an evening out drinks by the fire pit!! I can't say enough about the Ritz and Amelia Island.... We will definatly be back.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    664
    250
    115
    63
    25
See reviews for
277
385
22
256
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is a great location if you prefer cooler FL temps. Only a 35 minute cab ride from the very nice Jacksonville airport. No traffic and no stress to and from the property. The employees here are over the top accommodating. Service is a bit slow, but their willingness to please makes up for the wait times. Great location for families - our two small children were treated very well and thoroughly enjoyed the pool, playground and beach activities (the beach area is expansive!). The hotel has an older mansion feel in the common area and the rooms are simple and bright. I do agree with some of the other reviewers that the rooms could be maintained a little better (calk in showers, better paint job..). But all in all, beds and linens are the same as most Ritz Carlton's, it's clean and the ocean view and ocean front views are gorgeous!! We started off with an ocean view room and once the hotel emptied out from over the holiday weekend, were granted a huge ocean front suite - not sure of any other Ritz property that would be willing to do that. I also loved the layout of the hotel...easy to move around and perfectly compact where you'd want it to be. I would rate this hotel five starts, but the room was kind of average. But, because of the ease of getting to Amelia Island, fabulous staff, phenomenal ocean views from the rooms, and an overall safe and secure feel here..we will be back again next year for sure!!

Room Tip: If you can only get an ocean view room, go for it. Ocean front is much closer, but the views are bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Good:
This hotel has so much to offer. Very family oriented, friendly staff, delicious food, very clean rooms, etc. Everything you come to expect from a Ritz Carlton stay.
The Bad:
1. Lack of training from front desk staff. We were placed in the wrong room (three person party placed in a king bed room and not told during check-in). After waiting 1.5 hours until our room was ready and then discovering the king bed, no other club level double bed rooms were available. The lesson I learned - do not assume they will get it right or make it right. Basically, it is your responsibility catch their mistakes and to make sure they do their job correctly.
2. Club Level definitely not child friendly. My son who has food allergies could not share in the club level meals. The club staff manager told us that they could not accommodate special requests in fear that everyone would want the same privileges, so we were forced to order my son's dinner through room service and go back to our room to receive the food order. 1.5 hours later my son got his cheese burger and fries that he could eat safely. I was so upset it triggered my migraines and I spent the remainder of our last evening at the Ritz in bed. But I held my composure as not to ruin the experience for my family. Ritz - you guys might want to rethink that club lounge policy, seriously.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the room you wanted. Confirm, confirm, and then reconfirm
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I spent a weekend here for a special occasion. Everything is standard Ritz. We were upset to find that their signature restaurant Salt was closed for a group one night and sold out the next. Not what we contemplated. We were disappointed to find our only choice for dining would be Cafe 4750. How wrong we were!!
Cafe 4750 is great! Alysa and Olga are 2 servers who are world class and any Ritz should be proud of them. They went out of their way to assist us as my wife has dietary restrictions.
Alysa even took us into the kitchen. It was spotless and the Chef and staff were delightful.
Sometimes it is the little things that make or break a trip. These 2 servers and the kitchen made ours. We will go back without question.
The beach is beautiful as well!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, nc
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A perfect getaway for a week at the beach or just a long weekend. Feels more like a resort than a hotel. Stunning views, gorgeous property and excellent service (which you would expect from a Ritz). We fell in love with Amelia Island and downtown Fernandina.

Pros: Excellent service, nicely appointed rooms with balconies, fantastic restaurants with great food quality and selection (even for those with dietary restrictions), friendly and attentive staff (except at the pool), quiet and romantic places to enjoy a sunset or just relax, long and beautiful beaches.

Cons:
The rooms feel "beachy" but the rest of the hotel feels more like an older hotel. Nice but dark.
Pool service (drinks/food) was terrible. If you went to the bar -- good service. On our first day, we were there two hours and no one asked if they could get us anything. Same thing at the spa pool -- server left at one point for 45 minutes while three couples were at the pool and it was during the lunch hours. Certainly a miss for the resort -- all other areas of service were spot on and what you would expect from a Ritz property.

Must Do:
Dine at Salt (the restaurant)
Watch a game at Eight Sports Bar
Visit the spa (you can pay just $25 and use all amenities plus the pool)
Take a cab (or drive) to downtown Fernandina -- excellent restaurants and shopping

Room Recommendations: We decided not to upgrade to an oceanfront room and opted for an "open view" room. We had the most amazing view. Request the South side of the hotel (opposite side from the pool) and higher room numbers. We were in room 417 and the views were simply amazing for an ocean "view" room.

Room Tip: Room Recommendations: We decided not to upgrade to an oceanfront room and opted for an "open vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel was amazing, service, rooms, food. The beach was fantastic, however we went in April and did not really have great beach weather. The pool area was quite good with the live bands and it is a great place to hang out if the beach is windy.

Over all this place is true luxury.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife have come back to Amelia Ritz since it's opening in 1992. Every large property will have opportunities to improve but it how quickly and level of enthusiasm they embrace change and opportunities to serve. It is here that the Amelia property excels. From remembering your name to anticipating your needs. Well done Amelia team.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island

Address: 4750 Amelia Island Parkway, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-5501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in southern charm at The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island. With miles of pristine beaches to explore, you’ll find yourself basking in the glow of the sun as you swim, relax or walk along the sandy shore. As one of the most popular beach destinations on the East Coast, this luxury hotel in Florida provides a welcome barrier between you and the world beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton - Amelia Island Hotel Amelia Island
Ritz Carlton Amelia Island
Ritz Amelia Island
Amelia Island Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island Fernandina Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.