We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, mediocre food and destination” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   4750 Amelia Island Parkway, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-5501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great service, mediocre food and destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hotel had great service. it was a bit crowded, seeing as it was spring break, but the staff went out of their way to provide amazing service. The hotel is lovely, the pool and beach area are nice. They have a 45 minute rule at the pool, where if you leave your chair unoccupied for 45 minutes they will remove your things and let someone else sit there. They do enforce this rule, which is nice, because it is my pet peeve when people claim chairs first thing in the morning then don't show up at the pool for hours.

Hotel gym was great, lobby bar nice as well. It was unseasonably cold when we were there so didn't get to spend too many nights by the firepit.

The only negative was the food at the 4750 cafe. very mediocre, very uninspired, not alot of choices. The ambience was lacking as well -- they do have outdoor seating but like I said it was too cold for most of the trip and the room inside is drab and beige.

With the exception of Ft Clinch State park, the island itself is a little lacking in things to do

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    272
    124
    69
    26
See reviews for
306
409
22
269
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Perfect location and very child friendly. Nice to have the adult pool when without kids. Service is amazing. :) Newly renov. rooms are great. Only thing I would suggest is more tables at the poolside restaurant/bar. And my kids miss the moon bounce on the beach.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The title says it all. This Ritz is a glorified Marriott. The rooms are small (and we had an upgraded room). A key example of why we were shocked when we got here: the bathroom in our "upgraded" room had a tub/shower combo. Most hotels that we've ever stayed at in this price range have much more luxurious bathrooms (see Sanctuary at Kiawah Island, for example). The staff really has a hard time keeping up. My wife and friend had several spa treatments and I met them at the spa pool afterwards (good luck trying to relax at the main pool since it was kid crazy during our entire stay). It took the pool waitstaff an average of 20 minutes to get whatever we were attempting to order at the time... Drinks, food; and even basic things like extra salad dressing since there was hardly any to begin with when my wife first got her salad.

Breakfast was included with the room. A nice touch - if you can get in for breakfast. The host at the main restaurant recommended that I try the Salt restaurant since the main breakfast restaurant had a long wait and was overrun with kids. So when I went to the Salt restaurant, I was at least able to get seated. But I felt bad that the party of three in front of me (who were also told to try this other restaurant) had to wait upwards of 20 minutes before they got seated.

While having breakfast, I heard one of the servers swearing under his breath that the whole operation is severely flawed. I could definitely see that.

Maybe spending $400 a night is something that people just do all the time. So this place must just be a magnet for small families. But for us (a couple with no kids), when we spend that kind of money; we expect far, far more (again, see the Sanctuary at Kiawah Island).

If you're coming to Amelia Island (which didn't turn out to be all that great of a destination anyway), and you're looking to stay at one of the only upscale places available, you really have no choice but to stay at the Ritz. Just be ready to deal with lots of kids, noise, and standard accommodations when you do.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Let me start off saying I attended one of the best weddings I have ever been to at this Ritz. That said, if I were a typical hotel guest, I would have been displeased. To start:

-The staff is polite but clueless. They did not know the basics about the hotel or the town and were reasonably lazy. The food service at the downstairs cafe was impressively terrible.

-The rooms were fine but the walls were paper thin. If your next door neighbor is having a fight or has a child, be prepared to live in someone else's living room for your stay.

-There is nothing to do in the area. If it rains & you cannot access the pool or the beach, be prepared to do absolutely nothing for your entire trip.

-Given all of the above, we spent 2 nights and it costs us $800 all in (rooms, a few cocktails, one meal). I'd skip the hotel and probably the geo for that matter.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Spending a weekend at the Ritz is a real pleasure, during our stay the electricity was knocked out on the entire island for over three hours. The staff was fantastic, going way out of the norm to assist everyone. The kitchen staff did a great job without power and the wait staff was very professional. I would definitely go back and would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were celebrating my oldest daughters 40th birthday and splurged on a one night suite at the Ritz on beautiful Amelia island. We spent a wonderful day at the spa where the staff was great and attended our every need. Unfortunately, before we got to our room from the spa, the electricity went out due to a storm. The plan for hot showers, experimenting with make up, special hairdos, etc... did not materialize since we had only a short supply of hot water, no lights, and no hair dryers. My girls sat at the mirror at the end of the hall under the emergency lighting to swap makeup ideas. We ate at the Salt restaurant to the light of our "glow sticks." Our waiter, Matt, was wonderful and the food was great despite the limited menu. We felt we should not complain as there was a black tie wedding that evening. Their outdoor venue had been spoiled by the weather and then a reception with no electricity! Despite the fact they had no control over the power outage and handled a bad situation well, I thought they might suggest some kind of small comp for the inconvenience we experienced. That was not forthcoming.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Several of us stayed here for a friends Birthday celebration. The staff here were excellent in accommodating our requests. Everyone from the front desk, spa and restaurants made sure we were comfortable and our needs were met. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. Would definitely return here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island

Address: 4750 Amelia Island Parkway, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-5501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in southern charm at The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island. With miles of pristine beaches to explore, you’ll find yourself basking in the glow of the sun as you swim, relax or walk along the sandy shore. As one of the most popular beach destinations on the East Coast, this luxury hotel in Florida provides a welcome barrier between you and the world beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton - Amelia Island Hotel Amelia Island
Ritz Carlton Amelia Island
Ritz Amelia Island
Amelia Island Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island Fernandina Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;