We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“probably the best on the island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   4750 Amelia Island Parkway, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-5501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary 3rd Night
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“probably the best on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This family friendly hotel is amazing. They have many activities everyday for all ages to participate in such as shark tooth hunting, gourmet salt tasting, tour with the chef of the kitchen, and many more. There is a playground for children as well as a small water play area for children. There is outdoor and indoor pools and jacuzzis. The beach is amazing with not many people on it so you feel quite secluded. They even have beach toys for children to use. There are tons of shells on the beach to take home for souvenirs as well. The hotel always smells like perfume which is very pleasant. Staff is extremely friendly and courteous. We had reserved a double bed coastal view room. It was nice, clean, and simple. The closet was huge which was great for us. Coastal view was not that bad, you have to be at the edge of the balcony to see the gorgeous view, I do recommend though if you would like a view to go for the ocean view. Property was phenomenal, it was absolutely gorgeous anywhere you go. One disappointment was that internet access within the rooms was only available if you pay a fee, you wouldn't expect that for the amount of money you are already paying to stay at this lovely resort. Also, one of the activities for the day was story time in the courtyard. I took my children there and were disappointed to find no one there ready. Another family also came and were disappointed that a high class resort such as this was not able to fulfill all the amenities it states it provides.

Room Tip: go for the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    284
    128
    70
    26
See reviews for
315
437
22
299
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

A quick one night stay, but wonderful. Used to come here often but have not been of late. Service excellent, ambiance great, beautiful location, and great facilities. Enjoyed the food from room service to the breakfast and lunch options. I look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia Wa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Ritz-Carlton Amelia beach is a world class venue; great facilities , sumptuous surroundings, great food, but service is inconsistent. Group of friends stayed 4 nights for a conference and were disappointed with some aspects: the bar- on two occasions .Did not get a cocktail right and a second occasion an after dinner drink. I'm sorry madam that's what I thought you ordered!we ate at salt restaurant and was disappointed that although the wait staff describe the food beautifully when asked about the source of the meat were told ;-" the meat is organically produced and procured around the world" so the darling downs beef comes - perhaps- from Australia? And the hungry hills meat from Oregon. I do hope not, staff should know at the very least accurately what state or country the meat / fish is from. A fish was described as Atlantic halibut, there's no such thing! Instead of guessing or making it up, staff could excuse themselves and just go find out without being patronizing .

Nevertheless the food at salt was wonderfully, beautifully presented and service excellent if a little lacking in knowledge.

Thanks for an almost perfect stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

My pregnant daughter and I wanted a quiet weekend trip before her first baby comes and this was perfect. Hassle free and being attended to like we were the most important folks there. We stayed on the club level floor having access to the club which was hands down the best concierge suite I've ever been in. There was no need to scout out some neat place for lunch, the concierge suite had terrific food at all times of the day. And all of the attendants in there were super. Of course the hotel is wonderfully situated on the beach with plenty of great outdoor areas to relax around. Having the cute town of Fernandina Beach around the corner was entertaining as well. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We had been really looking forward to this trip since I heard so many great things about this hotel and about Amelia Island. Was there with friends (see Gluck review 2/17) and at a meeting. First night service in bar eight was slow and food mediocre and over priced. Next day we left our room around 1pm to go for lunch (not at the hotel as too pricey). When we left the room we took the privacy sign off the door and discussed calling house keeping but decided that this wasn't necessary since we were staying at a Ritz Carlton. We came back at 430 to discover the room was not made up at which point I called down and they said they would send someone up right away. We went to the lobby bar and spent too much for over-priced drinks. An hour later went back to the room to find that it was still not made up. Called again and we ended up sitting down by the elevators for another 30 minutes while the room was made up. Normally wouldn't really care as much about this but this is a Ritz Carlton.
That evening no taxi booked and had to wait for a longtime for cab to arrive (see Gluck review). The entire valet area is a total uncoordinated mess. Car was never ready when we went down even though we called ahead of time as instructed.
Service was generally rather poor. The last morning we were hurrying to make our flight. I ordered the parfait which had not arrived 30 minutes later. The waitress never came back to check on us once or to refill our coffee, seemed completely oblivious.
All in all very disappointing. Would be loath to stay there again at these prices

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This Ritz-Carlton resort is pretty impressive, built directly on the east shore of Amelia Island.
The service is excellent, lots of staff always smiling and helping and willing to go the extra mile to help.
The common areas are also nice (the pool, the beach, the gym) - the Spa is rated among the best Spas in the US but I did not have the chance to see it.
Food is decent at best, the breakfast a la carte is a bit of a rip-off (which is pretty typical in high-end resorts like this).
The areas has at least 4 different golf courses and the resort organizes a lot of other activities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I went to the Ritz for a company meeting and was once again happy with the entire experience. The food is wonderful - the staff over the top friendly kind and professional. Great beach, great pools and fabulous spa's. Their entire Salt collection is an experience unto itself. The spa offer several very special massages - hammock, is one of the new ones. The Salt info in the Salt shop is very interesting, try the chocolate salt. The food in the SALT restaurant was incredible three meals aday. I loved the small dessert servings. Just enough for two bites. Great gathering bar 8, and a kids club. Room was beautiful and made up perfectly everyday - twice a day. Ben at the front desk was so helpful and the valet car service was excellent nomatter how many times I got my car out. You may pay for top service but with this resort you get perfect service. Loves the night fire in the courtyard and small fireplaces around. Our group did a bonfire and it was so much fun! Down town Amelia is so quiant, the Salty Pelican is a fun place to eat. Lots to do and see in the area.

Room Tip: all ocean views. The suites were off the front of thehotel and perfect views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island

Address: 4750 Amelia Island Parkway, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-5501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island 5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in southern charm at The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island. With miles of pristine beaches to explore, you’ll find yourself basking in the glow of the sun as you swim, relax or walk along the sandy shore. As one of the most popular beach destinations on the East Coast, this luxury hotel in Florida provides a welcome barrier between you and the world beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton - Amelia Island Hotel Amelia Island
Ritz Carlton Amelia Island
Ritz Amelia Island
Amelia Island Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island Fernandina Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.