We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ritz on a beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   4750 Amelia Island Parkway, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-5501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$500 Resort Credit
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Fernandina Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ritz on a beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I have to admit, I love the Ritz. This location is no exception. The staff is helpful and the room was very nice. We took our own advice and opted for a suite. It was well worth the price. We had three bathrooms and an ocean view. I would stay here again if I can ever afford it again.

Room Tip: Stay on a high floor with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    672
    255
    116
    64
    25
See reviews for
281
386
22
261
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, TN
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed at the Ritz for the Georgia/Florida game the weekend of Oct. 27th. We have stayed here before and it has always been great, but I can tell they have stepped up their game to go over and beyond guests' expectations. The staff was always friendly. Ben at the front desk was very welcoming and nice. We stayed in room 235 - ocean view. It was a great view. Of course, it would have been better if Hurricane Sandy wasn't 50 miles off the coast, but I counted my blessings that we only encountered wind. The Spa is super expensive - $230 for a massage. However you must expect this when staying at a Ritz. It was definately worth the high cost. The spa was great-very relaxing. Can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

By far one of the most memorable events of our stay was the Grand Ballroom Thanksgiving Day Feast! Our ocean-view table was a treat, especially since the weather was sunny and warm. And from the crabcake station to the four carving stations -- yes, Ham, Prime Rib and two Turkey -- the food was delicious. The pastry chefs went beyond the call of duty and the smaller "tasting" samplings were spot on! Service was impeccable as would be expected at the Ritz-Carlton. Oh, this was so much better than cooking all day and cleaning up all evening!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed here as part of our 25th wedding anniversary. We paid a premium price to stay in a suite on the club level. I travel a lot and this is the most I've paid for a hotel room and it was well worth it. This is a great property with all the service you would expect from a Ritz Carlton from start to finish during our stay. Great ocean views, elegant rooms, nice common areas, and a great spa. We enjoyed the property so much that we rarely left the hotel. The food and service in the club level was awesome. 5 presentations of food each day and extremely attentive staff. I've also stayed on the club level at Ritz properties in Reynolds Plantation and Sarasota. I rate the Amelia Island Ritz above both of those.

We ate in Salt (on-site restaruant). Nice menu and great food. Unique gourmet salts served with breads was a nice way to start off the meal.

We also enjoyed a chiminea fire one night overlooking the ocean.

We both used the spa and it was exceptional as well.

If you are going to Amelia Island, you probably already know this, but it's a relatively remote area. If you are looking for a "city" stay this is not the place for you. We did enjoy the neighboring town fo Fernandina Beach.

All in all a great place for a special occasion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The customer service and view from the suites is amazing! The spa pedicure will not blow your mind, but the actual spa is nice and worth visiting. The hotel restaurant, Salt, is a must. We loved the fixed menu and found the restaurant lively and fun on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Amazing hotel, outstanding location, top notch service! Would return with my family (was there on business) for an extended stay. Liked the cafe, coffee bar. There were several amenities, small gift shops, pools (service), exercise room, spa (never used spa). I loved the short stroll to the beach, over the bridge through nature preserve where I saw turtles. Towels, lounge chairs were ready to use near the beach. The highlight was the white, sandy beach. Was a nice time to go as was not busy.
Kudos to management for staff, they were all friendly and eager to answer any questions and be of service. I would absolutely return to The Ritz-Carlton-Amelia Island.

Room Tip: King bed was sooo comfortable!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My children and I tagged along for my husband's recent conference there and we upgraded to club level upon arrival. What a great decision that was! The food and beverage presentations were better than any other club/concierge level we have experienced (even at other Ritz properties). The club level staff was incredibly attentive and made us feel at home, yet pampered as only the Ritz can do (It's their pleasure). Terri, Jennifer, Amber and all of the other club level staff members made our stay absolutely perfect. The surprise delivery of macaroni and cheese for the kids was a special treat! I cannot say enough wonderful things about this trip and this property. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island

Address: 4750 Amelia Island Parkway, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-5501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in southern charm at The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island. With miles of pristine beaches to explore, you’ll find yourself basking in the glow of the sun as you swim, relax or walk along the sandy shore. As one of the most popular beach destinations on the East Coast, this luxury hotel in Florida provides a welcome barrier between you and the world beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton - Amelia Island Hotel Amelia Island
Ritz Carlton Amelia Island
Ritz Amelia Island
Amelia Island Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island Fernandina Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.