We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, maybe not worth the high price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   4750 Amelia Island Parkway, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-5501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$75 Credit + Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Steamboat Springs, CO
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely place, maybe not worth the high price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Attended a conference at this hotel along with 150 other people. The Hotel did a good job with food and the event. Only complaint was the air conditioning had everyone freezing. The rooms are quite nice, but not fantastic. But they should be fantastic for what they charge. This event was in late October, somewhat off season, and was "only" $249 pler nite plus taxes and parking and other fees due to the size of the group. We enjoyed road cycling in the area, but had all our meals at the hotel due to the conference. .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    948
    351
    158
    73
    33
See reviews for
390
522
26
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

So let's face it - the Ritz Carlton has a long history of service and luxury and this property is no exception. Recently remodeled, the rooms and public areas are comfortable and tasteful. There are two restaurants, a sports bar, an outdoor bar and a lobby bar with an outdoor area. The rooms are spacious and well appointed with bathrobes, lots of toiletries and a well stocked mini bar. We had a nice balcony where we could sit and enjoy a view of the beach as well as the outdoor hotel area. They have set up several outdoor seating areas with chimineas as well as a larger area with a fire pit - perfect for the beach. There is a beautiful outdoor pool area as well as an indoor pool and the spa has its own pool area. Very nice! Service was a bit hit and miss. They had one staff member manning the beach which was not nearly enough. Additionally although they had drink service in the pool area, nothing on the beach which was disappointing. Overall recommended and we will definitely return,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I debated between 4 and 5 stars and wish I could go 4.5 but the service really pushed it to 5. This RC is on the beach with amazing indoor and outdoor pools, clay tennis courts, fire pits, and one fantastic spa. Can't say enough about the service. I was here for 3 nights, 4 days for a conference and really had a spectacular time. I did not experience the restaurants other than the pool side cafe since all meals were centered around group/work.

Highly recommend John for a private tennis lesson which was very affordable much to my surprise. Racquets available for use on premises. And Paul is a seriously fabulous massage therapist. Yes, the spa is pricey as expected but the facilities are nice and I was given access all weekend. The gym is also very nice.

The only reason I was debating 4 vs 5 was the room quality for a RC. Compared to the RC Tucson and RC Tahoe, the room was a bit dated.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive about noise, be aware that the band in the lobby plays late and when people ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed three days on business. This is a great hotel for meetings or for a getaway. Our room was large, clean, with plenty of space for clothes and lots of outlets for charging phones and computers. It had a business desk with a very good chair. The bath was large with tub and shower (big shower head), two basins, and plenty or room for my wife's cosmetics. Plus, there was a hidden, built-in safe in the closet. The room was very quiet, and we slept with our balcony door open all night.

Staff were very helpful and very friendly. I really liked the many chairs and lobby areas where we could sit and converse with colleagues. Lots of lounges around the pool. Lots of good food, at the pool, at a cafe, at an informal restaurant, and at a good restaurant. Plus, there was a large ocean beach with umbrellas and chairs.

Several hundred people attended our meeting, and the lunches provided by the hotel were very good. The hotel also catered a reception with enough light food that dinner was not needed. Breakfast was good but not outstanding.

I highly recommend the hotel for both business meetings, for romantic get aways, and for a family vacation.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We love our weekend getaways at this resort. From the moment you arrive you are greeted with smiling and very helpful staff. The rooms are absolutely beautiful and if you stay on the club level you are treated to a more intimate atmosphere along with food presentations throughout the day and a wonderful selection of beverages.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband had a Mayo conference to attend and my 15 month old son and I tagged along. We have stayed at several Ritz properties in the past, so I was nervous about bringing a toddler. As soon as we checked in, I had no more worries. The check in staff was wonderful about putting my worries to rest, and even gave us a list of nannys to utilize if we wanted a date night. We ended up not using them- but please know they are available(from concierge)

The rooms were wonderful, and spacious. Room for a roll away crib without feeling cramped. My only issue with the room was the balcony railing. My child could have crawled through and fell. I noticed when at the pool some of the rooms had the concrete that came up so a child couldn't fall- and the first floor room had a patio like area with a concrete wall. Next time we come (and we most definitely will!) we will specifically ask for one of those rooms. I was a nervous wreck on the balcony with my inquisitive and speedy son- so we never went out there. Bummer.

My son LOVED the kiddie pool. He loved being able to walk around, play in the sprinkler things, and the fact he could get in and out of the water on his own. We spent HOURS here everyday. It is in a good location also because when the sun starts to get really intense- the building casts its shade over the pool early (maybe 2 ish?)

The "big" pool is wonderful also- nice and heated! The indoor pool seemed to be cooler than the outdoor one- perhaps because of the AC? We went in there one day when it was raining, and my poor kiddos teeth were chattering. There are swim diapers provided if you forget.

The outdoor restaurant had the best chicken fingers- and I am becoming a connoisseur of chicken fingers in motherhood. They close earlier than I would have liked though.

The indoor sports bar was great! We bonded with a bartender named Mikayla, and she did an outstanding job taking care of us. We were in there during the cocktail class, and she was sure to include us. We had the baby, so we stayed a little farther back from from the bar- but she was attentive even to us. This area was a good place to let our son wander around and not be cooped up. Mikayla was wonderful and got our son a little stuffed turtle from the gift shop- he now wants it in his crib with him.

I really appreciated how the staff was so welcoming of our son, and even went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. It is stressful traveling with a small child, and they helped in everyway they could to make it easier.

We also really enjoyed the walking trail right outside the resort. I am not sure if that is a Ritz maintained or not, but it was wonderful. When I would come back from walking, I would be greeted with a cold bottle of water.

I wish I could live here. :)

Room Tip: If you have a small child/toddler and are worried about safety- go on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

What a great hotel. The service was beyond compare. We were there for a convention and they did an outstanding job with both service and food. Our room was excellent and had all the best amenities. When we needed to find something an employee would stop what they were doing and take us to the location we were looking for. What a nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Amelia Island
Residence Inn by Marriott Amelia...
#1 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,072 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#4 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#2 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#3 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
2.6 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island

Address: 4750 Amelia Island Parkway, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-5501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island 5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in southern charm at The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island. With miles of pristine beaches to explore, you’ll find yourself basking in the glow of the sun as you swim, relax or walk along the sandy shore. As one of the most popular beach destinations on the East Coast, this luxury hotel in Florida provides a welcome barrier between you and the world beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton - Amelia Island Hotel Amelia Island
Ritz Carlton Amelia Island
Ritz Amelia Island
Amelia Island Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island Fernandina Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.