We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach and romance with outstanding service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   4750 Amelia Island Parkway, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-5501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary 3rd Night
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Winter Springs
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beach and romance with outstanding service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I have traveled to many beach and romantic destinations. Many places are beautiful and romantic however it is rare to find that each person gives such outstanding service at each moment of the stay. The only minor issue was slow service at the pool on a Friday afternoon however a non wait staff not only took our order but went above and beyond to ensure we had all we requested and then some. The Salt Restaurant is exceptional and the Salt store is fabulous for tasting and gifts for foodies. Friday night seafood buffet was very good for groups or families. The views can't be beat with a great bit of old Florida beach without giant hotels and condos blocking views.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    277
    125
    69
    26
See reviews for
309
419
22
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This hotel is extraordinary. We have been traveling all over the world staying in beautiful hotels. The Ritz Carlton Amelia Island proved to be exceptional at all levels: all personel is incredibly friendly and professional, the rooms are gorgeous - we had a beautiful terras with view over the beach and pool, the food is very good, the beach is beautiful, the pool is large and beautiful.... The food around the pool is expensive but very good in quality. Breakfast was again expensive but very good. Our dinner experience was a bit disappointing but still ok. Overal, a very very nice hotel that we can definitely recommend. The location is beautiful on the beach and the historic village at Fernandina beach is quaint and quite charming. The best part is the old fashioned ice cream parlor.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool overlooking the pool. The hotel has two blocks: one overlooking the courtyard - rathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, FL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My wife booked us here in an oceanfront suite for a few days to celebrate our 6th anniversary. She had stayed here recently for a spa weekend, but it was my first time at the resort. The property is spectacular, the service excellent, and the amenities were first-rate. Before I start my critical points, let me say upfront that my wife and I had a wonderful time and will probably return here again. However, the resort missed an excellent review because of some glitches in technology, some missed service details, environmental issues, and problems in the restaurant (in another review).

The technology glitches we encountered were a non-working fireplace, no rhyme or reason to the electrical switches, no power outlets where you would expect them (at the desk, perhaps?), a high-tech Kohler DTV shower that soaked everything outside of the shower stall until we figured how to program it, and, the most frustrating of all, the enigmatic Kohler Numi toilet in the master bath. Cool, yes, with a lid that opens up when you approach, self flush when you leave and a ton of other functions accessible from the remote. However, these functions are rather useless if the remote doesn't work removed from its cradle and the cradle is mounted in an inaccessible spot on the wall behind you when seated. In essence, with all of the technology in the suite, you would need several days just to program everything to your preferences and there are a lot more exciting things to do here than that.

The service misstep was minor, but annoying. One day a used washcloth was left in a sink and the day's task list was left behind.

On the environmental front, the air conditioning never seemed to function to its capacity. We like a very chilly bedroom, but wound up sleeping on top of the covers and still being too warm despite turning the A/C down. We were almost tempted to open the doors and let the sea breeze help.

I know these sound like whining, but when you pay upwards of $1,000/night for a suite at a resort chain known for its quality, one expects perfection. While they came awfully damn close, and certainly far away from ruining our vacation, these nits are the things that stick out in my mind.

Oh, and for those who comment about the kids - yes, there are a lot of kids at this resort (especially when school's out), but seek out the "Spa Pool". Adults only, bar and grill service, and isolated from the shrieks and splashes of the playing kids.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Enjoyed a nice vacation for Easter with several friends. We had a couple of rooms. Staff was great for the most part...food was good but pretty expensive for what it was. Overall, we had a great time and the amenities were great! Would return and recommend!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We love Ritz properties but this wasn't quite what we expected. Lots of families with multiple children under ten years old and loud children and babies in the expensive restaurants on site. We had a good stay but this one won't make our list again. If you are a family with young children this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have stayed at this property at least 10 times over the last nine years, always for the July 4th holiday, but I have never heard a "welcome back" from the staff. That lack of detail is emblematic of the service at the Ritz Amelia, and is among the many reasons that the most recent stay is likely to be our last.
We were excited to return this year because the renovation was complete! Well, renovation is an exaggeration of terms - seems they forgot the bathrooms. Ours had a moldy shower, faucets that dripped and a toilet that ran all the time. We know from experience that they did not change the bathroom faucets, sinks, mirror or toilet, and they all looked worn and performed poorly. The bathrooms are certainly not of the caliber that you would expect at a Ritz.
Further, the updates didn't do much to accommodate guests at the pool. As everyone knows, this summer is a scorcher, but the hotel didn't bother to invest in a few extra umbrellas. By 9 am each morning, the few umbrellas at the pool were taken, leaving the remaining guests with an unpleasant pool experience.
Otherwise, the renovations look nice and the hotel is freshened up. The food also seemed better this year.
As to service, it leaves a lot to be desired. Don't expect to feel like you are an appreciated guest, the staff (with a few exceptions) seems too busy to do anything other than focusing on their job tasks and chatting with each other.
The topper for us was when the valet's damaged my car, but the hotel refused to take responsibility for the damage they caused. Nothing like being called a liar by a company you just paid thousands of dollars to.
Overall, even though it is the nicest property on the island, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who has Ritz standards.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atanta, GA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have visited the Ritz at Amelia Island on numerous occasions and have had wonderful experiences each time. We have been in summer, winter and fall. We spent last Thanksgiving there and the experience with the staff was superb. The activities for kids is wonderful all year round. The beach is clean and the pool is comfortable. We go back yearly for R&R. HIGHLY recommended!

Room Tip: Ocean front is nice but even the inner court yard rooms have a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island

Address: 4750 Amelia Island Parkway, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-5501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island 5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in southern charm at The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island. With miles of pristine beaches to explore, you’ll find yourself basking in the glow of the sun as you swim, relax or walk along the sandy shore. As one of the most popular beach destinations on the East Coast, this luxury hotel in Florida provides a welcome barrier between you and the world beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton - Amelia Island Hotel Amelia Island
Ritz Carlton Amelia Island
Ritz Amelia Island
Amelia Island Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island Fernandina Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.