We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Florida House Inn

Save Saved
You added Florida House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Florida House Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   22 South 3rd Street, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not good.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

I didnt stay there but went in to have lunch and it was awful. Mac and cheese was ice.cold, butter beans were over salted, and mashed potatoes were so dry they were hard to eat. Wouldnt eat there again. Southern food can be good not sure what happened here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    35
    10
    11
    5
See reviews for
15
105
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We look for simple, comfortable, delicious, relaxing, laid back, warm, friendly when we travel. Florida House Inn delivers in every aspect. Stayed with
them twice ( so far) and came home totally satisfied and eager to return. Where can you go these days and be able to say that?? Florida House Inn! Say it with me, Florida House Inn.
Book, stay, enjoy, repeat....!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We rented out the inn for our wedding guests and had a fantastic experience. We had our rehearsal dinner here and the event was really great. The food was delicious and the staff did an excellent job. Additionally, the inn did such a wonderful job accommodating all our guests and really made it feel like a home base for us and our guests the whole weekend. I really can't say enough about how great our stay was.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCaysville, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We loved the Florida Inn. The inn has been beautifully restored; our room was lovely and very confortable. We had good service and enjoyed a great breakfast cooked and served by the chef who was very helpful with reguards to the area. We would stay there again in a heartbeat. Location is perfect - one block from downdown.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and I recently spent three nights at the Florida House Inn and look forward to our next stay ! We thoroughly enjoyed the property. Our room was beautiful, cozy and very comfortable. The Florida House Inn 's unique ambiance is very enjoyable. In addition, the property is very well managed. We appreciated the excellent service and professionalism of the staff and innkeepers, and highly recommend this charming property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Florida House for a night in early December. The inn was very quiet since it was midweek. We found the atmosphere to be homey and relaxing. We stayed in a room on the first floor right in the front. While the bathroom was sparse, to say the least, we were happy to be able to sleep in a king sized bed, which was the tradeoff for this particular room. The room had a clawfoot tub and a very small sink/toilet area, but they did the best that they could to configure the room so that the bathroom was ensuite. The hosts were very accomodating and the bartender very friendly and knowledgeable. Bar area alone is worth a visit. Lovely, unique old space with a mermaid theme throughout. Very kitchy. My only suggestion is to avoid a front room on Tuesday since the street sweepers come out at about 5:30am Wednesday morning followed by the garbage truck at 6am. Not exactly a place for a restful morning, but can't blame the Fernandina municipal schedule on the B&B! Breakfast was delicious and filling. Perfect sendoff for our drive back to Atlanta!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

The service was terribe. We were 1st patrons in the restaurant when it opened and the waitress who waited on us was terrible. She never smilef once, we ordered drinks ( coffee, water, sweet tea) and the waitress did not come back for 15 minutes. We almost got up and left but didn't. When we ordered food and received it (it took 40 minutes once we ordered). Food was not hot. Just a poor experience from inexperienced innkeeper

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Florida House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florida House Inn

Address: 22 South 3rd Street, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Florida House Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florida House Inn was built in 1857 by David Yulee and is considered the oldest active Inn in Florida. The Inn has housed many famous people like Ulysses S. Grant, The Carnegies and the Rockerfellers, just to name a few. Come for a visit and step back in time with us.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Florida House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida House Hotel Fernandina Beach
Florida House Inn Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Florida House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.