We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely historic inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Florida House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Florida House Inn to your Saves list
Florida House Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   22 South 3rd Street, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely historic inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed in this historic inn on Amelia Island for a wedding weekend. The historic building was so charming and the service was friendly and great! They hosted the wedding, which was beautiful and they served amazing southern food. The location is great too. Right in the heart of this quaint town which has so much history and many fun things to do! I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    41
    16
    13
    7
See reviews for
19
118
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
La Canada, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The beautifully restored 17 room Florida House Inn, an 1850s (and reputed oldest surviving Florida) Hotel, created by the man who built the first Atlantic to Gulf Florida railroad, is just a block from the main (15 mph limit) avenue in old Victorian downtown Amelia Island, 2 short blocks from the must-see (and enjoy) Palace Saloon (also said to be the oldest Florida saloon), and 3 blocks from waterfront Brett's Wayside Inn restaurant and the tour boat dock. Run by very down to earth and friendly Barbara Canal and her smiling staff, the hotel has a lovely fountain-strewn rear patio, lawn and bandstand, lit by overhead strings of old clear big round bulb lights. Lazy rockers on the lengthy front wooden porch are a perfect place to sip a morning coffee or something more bracing from the mermaid-themed bar. A number of the rooms feature fireplaces and a couple have big old tubs. Rooms with a view of the back were most favored. Although we ate out mostly, the food served at the wedding we attended on the premises was imaginatively presented and marvelously seasoned authentic southern fare, including locally caught and obviously fresh shrimp and scallops which I (a non-scallop fan) found to die for. With upcoming rates as low as $90, and only $190 for the bridal suite (!!), and most rooms in September $140-150, the Inn figures to be one of the best places to imagine the footsteps of ex residents and Sunday supper enthusiasts U.S. Grant and the Carnegies, Rockefellers, Goulds and Morgans. The Inn has recently acquired and has complementary plans for the adjacent Green Turtle Bar & Grill, which features entertainment in a casual indoor-outdoor setting weekends. If you're an early night tuckaway you might request to be away from the northern Green Turtle on weekends, though most sounds were muted after 10. This was our first trip to Amelia Island, but we'll be back ASAP, and stay right here.

Room Tip: Antiquers take note: At the corner of the main avenue and 6th street is a rambling antique shop whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful hotel for a wedding. It was my first time to Florida and couldn't of been happier!! The staff was wonderful and the rooms were great! They made us a wonderful complimentary breakfast that was to die for!! straight from the south!
The wedding was wonderful as well and we had zero issues.
I would recommend having an event here and staying here as well. The entire town was lovely ;)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon and this inn was perfect! The location in the historic district was close to great shops and restaurants. The rooms and lobby were clean and neat. Each morning the chef cooked our complimentary breakfast to order and it was delicious. Next time we are in the area we won't even consider staying any place but the Florida House.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Constructed in 1855 or so as a boarding house for the workers building Sen. Yulee's cross Florida Railroad this two story building (with addition) 'fit' our history tour of Florida. Private parking in the back, you walk thru flowers and gardens or park out front to unload. Breakfast included, fresh cooked in their full kitchen. Good, not exceptional.
The rooms are well decorated, comfortable. Public porches off most rooms. Only 'complaint' the bathrooms are tiny.. pay attention to bath when you pick your room, we didn't and my wife couldnt find room for any 'lady' things.
Around $140 a night. Yes, you can stay at the Hampton for less, but location is excellent, new management friendly and helpful, there is a bar / restaurant (we did not eat at). Real history and thrilled after 150 years still up and running.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My wife & I decided at the last minute to plan a one night get-away to Amelia Island and we're glad we picked The Florida House Inn. After making our reservation I sent an email to Emily the manager, explaining some surprises I'd like for my wife for our 40th Anniversay, Emily took over from there...the flowers in our room still blooming 2 weeks later. The champagne with a cheese & fruit plate-top notch. Then she made reservations for our private carriage tour, dinner & river cruise, making it our most memorable anniversary ever. We never write reviews, but we can't say enough about Emily, her husband & The Florida House Inn...for our money the best on Amelia Island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The room was lovely but one complaint. The windows faced the front of the house and the curtains were the big heavy kind. They didn't really close all the way on the sides or center and I felt like we didn't have total privacy. I think a clip to clip the middle together would help and not sure what to do about the sides. Not a whole lot of places to put luggage or hang clothes.. I get that this is a beautiful historic place, but simple fixes could help. I have stayed at other historic inns that do not have these problems. The breakfast and its service was delicious. We loved sitting on the balcony and listening to the live music next door!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Florida House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florida House Inn

Address: 22 South 3rd Street, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Florida House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florida House Inn was built in 1857 by David Yulee and is considered the oldest active Inn in Florida. The Inn has housed many famous people like Ulysses S. Grant, The Carnegies and the Rockerfellers, just to name a few. Come for a visit and step back in time with us.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Florida House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida House Hotel Fernandina Beach
Florida House Inn Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Florida House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.