We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Taste of Old Florida” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Florida House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Florida House Inn to your Saves list
Florida House Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   22 South 3rd Street, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Taste of Old Florida”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Having lived in Florida and seen the destruction that "progress' has wrought, it is nice to have some places left that still have the unique ambiance of times past. Fernandina is one such place, and the Florida House Inn is a gem. Our room was small, but comfortable, with a nice porch outside. Only were able to stay one night - would like to go back for a longer visit next time we're in Fernandina.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    41
    16
    13
    7
See reviews for
19
118
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Moncks Corner, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We were there to attend a niece's wedding. The reception was held at the Inn. The staff went out of their way to provide us with everything that was needed for the reception. Our room was perfect. The bed was very, very comfortable. Breakfast was scrumptous. It was a great place for family and friends to get together to celebrate such a happy occasion!

Room Tip: We were given the Queen room and it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Marshell and Emily are great. The lunch is great and old fashion seating with other people. My wife and I had lunch here and sat with a couple from Cocoa Beach. We had a great time talking with them. Also, we go every once in a while to the bar and just sit around and talk with Marshell and Emily and any guest they are staying. Fun place with alot of history.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

The Inn was right off the main strip in Fernandina that had all the restaurants, bars, and shops. It's right across the street from Kelly's Courtyard Cafe which has great food, and next to a local bar that has live music. The front porch is nice and in view and hearing distance from the live music, which was a nice treat.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights and had the most beautiful time. We were welcomed from the moment we arrived! We felt like we were staying with family the whole time. Emily and Marshall were magnificent hosts, I know they are the Inn Keepers, but like I said, we felt like we were with family, They were so accommodating and made our stay so relaxing, When we arrived, they had the room ready for us, AC was on, and so was the light. Like they were waiting for us and wanted to be sure that we felt comfortable when we arrived. The entire time we were there the greeted us by name, and engaged us in conversation. I have never felt such hospitality anywhere else! We had some special requests, and even that was not an issue! Stevie the bartender, was so nice, when I talked to her, it was like I was talking to a great friend! We truly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back again, Our 1st wedding anniversary was great and a large part of that was due to the wonderful hosts at the Florida House Inn. The breakfasts were wonderful, I couldn't have done it better myself, and lunch WOW - we were late for lunch and they all made sure we got our lunch anyway! I have a new favorite dish, Sqash Casserole! Thank you to everyone for making our stay so relaxing, especially Emily and Marshall!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casselberry, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

I cannot say anything bad about this place!! The inn keepers, food, and atmostphere were A++++++++ The inn keepers go over and above to make sure your stay is awesome!! The mermaid bar in the evening was the spot to be!! Everyone there made us feel like we were at home! Like I said we loved it so much we ended up staying an extra night!!! Thank you SOOOO much for making our summer trip worth wild!! We will be back soon!! My happy place is at the Florida House Inn!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We celebrated our anniversary at Florida House Inn over Memorial Day weekend and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Every member of the staff was so friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic; just a short walk to all the shops, bars, and restaurants. The breakfast was delicious, too. We enjoyed socializing with the owners and other guests at the onsite bar in the evenings. This type of property is perfect - more intimate, unique, and friendly than a chain hotel but with more privacy than a B&B. This will be our go-to property anytime we are in Fernandina Beach.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Florida House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florida House Inn

Address: 22 South 3rd Street, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Florida House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florida House Inn was built in 1857 by David Yulee and is considered the oldest active Inn in Florida. The Inn has housed many famous people like Ulysses S. Grant, The Carnegies and the Rockerfellers, just to name a few. Come for a visit and step back in time with us.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Florida House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida House Hotel Fernandina Beach
Florida House Inn Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Florida House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.