We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LuLu's at The Thompson House

LuLu's at The Thompson House
11 South 7th Street, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
904-432-8394
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: New owners/chef as of Summer 2010. Chef, Brian Grimley. Fantastic food, intimate location, menu changes weekly.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

We ate here twice.....during our 4 day stay....dinner and lunch
Had shrimp and grits, fish on polenta, grey grouper and the Thai curry seafood pot....all excellent....although my grouper was a little dry...
Shrimp and grits came with a grit cake....crunchy on outside...excellent Whitehaven white wine...awesome....can sit inside or out

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    100
    29
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Very good carb crab cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Had the crab cake sandwich n it was very good on fresh roll n tasty
Service was good although the place is very small inside a felt cramped for space they do have outside dinning n would recommend it

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We loved the calamari and the Shrimp and Grits! Excellent service and ambiance! Short walk from the Hoyt House

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
1,714 reviews 1,714 reviews
1,150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 196 cities Reviews in 196 cities
566 helpful votes 566 helpful votes
“Pretty good, although food was not uniquely imaginative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We ate at Lulu’s on Amelia Island on our last night on Amelia Island. It is advertised as a seafood restaurant, and the menu backs up that claim. It is an attractive place, with more tables outside than in. (Most of those outside tables are covered.) I ordered a Thai-spiced seafood dish that came with a mound of white rice. It was a decent quantity of food, and the amount of seafood was also nice. However, I must admit that I was surprised with the “normalness” of the dish. It was good, but about on par with the Panaang dishes of the Thai restaurants back home. I was expecting something that was out-of-the-ordinary, which this wasn’t.
Service here was very good, and I enjoyed chatting with the manager about the local seafood scene. They were all very nice people here who seemed to like running this place. Even though the food was not unusual here, I would still enjoy coming back, and I do recommend it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Sandwiches are Amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

You are on an island and you want a piece of fish for lunch. Lots of places on the Island to get it but after three lunches at LuLu's, I can tell you that a fish sandwich and fries is out of this world. Large portion of fish on choice of baked bread that is as good as it gets on the Island. We had the mussels, prepared two ways this day. They came in a pot and were huge, delicious and great value.

The service is terrific and you know there is a top chef in the kitchen preparing your food. You will not be disappointed. I haven't had dinner at LuLu's but as you see in other reviews, it appears to be even better.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LuLu's at The Thompson House also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to LuLu's at The Thompson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LuLu's at The Thompson House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.