We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chinese food that satisfies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jade's Bistro

Jade's Bistro
1484 Sadler Rd, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL
904-321-2777
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Scituate, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Chinese food that satisfies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

After three visits Jade's has become a reliable go-to place for good Chinese dishes. Not everything is stellar but they offer a number of well prepared classics that are worth the visit.
The Crab Rangoon apps are fresh and different from most other places. The General Gao's chicken contains nice chunks of chicken breast (with no "surprise" bits that are sometimes allowed in lesser quality restaurants.)
Service was spotty during one visit for no good reason we could determine. But for a quick family restaurant one out of three visits can be overlooked.
No bar - which is a real problem for my tradition of having Mai-Tais with my fried wontons. But until I find a spot with everything, Jade's will do nicely.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    26
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Do it for lunch!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I like Jade's Bistro an eat there a lot. We usually go for lunch and get the $6.95 lunch special. If you want a good lunch and an honest price, Jade's is the place!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fresh foo served hot and moderately priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were really surprised to have such delicious food. We had the eggplant and shrimp & scallops dishes. For $10 and $16 we had a salad as well. The key here is freshness. Fresh ingredients cooked to order. We'll definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Hot food on a Cold Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Everything was full of flavor starting with the hot tea. Nothing we had was bad. There were four of us with four different orders. It all came out together and everything was hot. We all will go back again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Thai and more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

"Asian Fusion" cuisine has many dishes familiar to Asian food gourmands but with a Thai twist. Jade East (a.k.a. Jade's Bistro) in an Amelia Island strip mall has just the right blend of American/Chinese, Korean and Southeast Asian flavors. The hot and sour soup has the right amount of heat, but the Tom Yum soup goes a step better. The yellow and red curry dishes are features here with a choice of protein. If you like sweets go for the Mango Shrimp. Lemon grass seasoning, absent in many southeast Asian establishments, is prevalent here. They have a "health recipe" menu for the weight conscious. Go for the steamed shrimps, scallops, asparagus and shiitake mushroom combination with the house's special ginger sauce.Decor a bit cliche but the service is attenitve, especially if Jade herself is in the house. (Take out, also.)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jade's Bistro also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Jade's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jade's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.