We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and Comfortable - A Boutique Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hoyt House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hoyt House Inn to your Saves list
Hoyt House Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   804 Atlantic Avenue, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early15%OFF + Bonus
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Elegant and Comfortable - A Boutique Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was our first trip to Amelia Island and to Hoyt House. I cannot say enough wonderful things about our stay here. Hoyt House is an absolutely beautiful historic property. The innkeepers, Deborah and Myrta, have done an outstanding job of restoring the inn and appointing it with such fine amenities. We were greeted warmly by Myrta and Deborah, and you would have thought we were long lost family. Our room (Kate's Study) was lovely and very comfortable. There were even fresh-baked cookies (heaven), apples and water waiting for us. The bed was very comfortable with some of the finest linen I have ever touched. You feel pampered every time you turn around.

Your stay includes a cooked-to-order, two-course breakfast and an evening reception with marvelous appetizers. Our server for breakfast, Missi, was simply delightful and took excellent care of us. Part of your breakfast includes homemade sticky buns that were delicious and french press coffee which made waking up perfect! The evening reception includes ever changing appetizers, the company of your innkeepers and other guests, and a bar area that feels like a classic lounge.

Myrta and Deborah are excellent hosts and provide great company and fantastic recommendations. We dined in the historic district at two restaurants recommended by our hosts -- spot on perfect. The inn's location made it easy for us to walk most places, and bikes are available if you want to venture further (compliments of the inn). Myrta also gave us suggestions on some out-of-the-way sights, and we had a wonderful time exploring the island and further down the coast.

This had to be one of our top experiences. We definitely plan to return and will only stay at Hoyt House. I would highly recommend Hoyt House to anyone planning a trip to Amelia Island!

Room Tip: Have only experienced Kate's Study (Queen room), which was beautiful. One note, and the owners h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoythouse_innkeeper, Owner at Hoyt House Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Well, all I can say was the late nights are the bar were awesome! We had a blast with you two and can't wait to do it again. We get wonderful people coming into our lives and we get the opportunity to get to know you and what a blessing that is.! Thank you so much for the wonderful review and I know we will be seeing you soon. It is nice when you have people appreciate all that you do!

Best,

Deborah & Myrta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    22
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
26
273
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The house and property are absolutely beautiful - I didn't want to leave. The downtown area is within walking distance and everything else is a short drive away. Myrta and Deborah do a outstanding job and pay attention to every detail. The breakfasts are delicious and I can't wait until they start serving dinner in the future.

My companion and I had the luck of being the only guests one night and we were able to spend some quality time with Myrta and Deborah. They have great personalities and provided some interesting conversations.

I will definitely be back and hope to make it an extended stay. I highly recommend The Hoyt House - you can't go wrong!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Everthing about the inn was wonderful...from the innkeepers themselves and their fabulous breakfasts to the central location. The rooms were glorious...especially the 'to die for' beds/linens! The staff was uber-attentive and could not be more accommodating. Really just loved the whole vacation!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had an absolutely lovely weekend at the Hoyt House. The house itself was beautiful, the hosts were friendly and funny, and the room was so comfortable. We loved how convenient the house was to downtown (the only time we used our car was to go to the beach) and appreciated all the beach stuff that was there for us to borrow. We loved the town! There were so many good places to eat (and drink).
And we LOVED the pool. Most B&Bs we have stayed at do not have one and it was a wonderful way to cool off without having to drive to the beach.
We expecially appreciated the reservation times for breakfast. Most B&Bs have a set time for everyone. The different times allowed us central time zone folks to sleep in a little without missing the fabulous breakfast!
I would recommend The Hoyt House to any of my friends and cannot wait to go back.
I would give a tip to light sleepers, though. The road to the mill runs by the house and the trucks can be loud in wee hours of the morning. The owners provided a sound machine in the room, but it didn't drown it out for me (I am an extremely light sleeper). So I just downloaded a white noise app for free and played that all night. Easy solution!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoythouse_innkeeper, Owner at Hoyt House Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We love our Anniversary people who choose to relax that The Hoyt House. Thank-you so much for your honest review. We have worked so hard to make sure that our guests get an amazing great nights sleep. At times it is hard to drag people out of our 600 count Egyptian cotton linens to come down for breakfast! We like the reservation time for breakfast as well, so that we give 100% attention to that guest when they want to eat. The warm towels & sticky Buns take some time to get through! Not to mention the two other courses! thanks again, and Myrta & I look forward to relaxing again at the Hoyt House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawfordville, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I have always enjoyed Fernandina Beach and Cumberland Island. This time we were on our way to Savannah and wanted an overnight break en route. We found the Hoyt House easily on line, called for some clarification, and booked immediately. The house is absolutely lovely, large but with cozy rooms. We loved wine and cheese hour in the beautiful old bar room where we had a chance to meet new friends and chat with the owners. It's an easy walk down Center Street to good restaurants...dinner at Espana and dessert at a restaurant overlooking the water. Breakfast was excellent with the cook giving a new meaning to sticky buns...these were brought hot from the oven with hot cinnamon sauce running over them. The rooms were charming and impeccable..we loved Room #10, which was quiet and had a view into the garden. An easy and pleasant stay for travelers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My wife and I have been to many many B&Bs from Maine to Cape May to Charleston and now Fla and must say that this one could use a little work. Loved the location and the breakfast but the decor needs some work. Also, although the pool is nice they have a porta potty in the yard which sure distracts from the setting. Tacky huge brochure racks and coffee stations are all over and the messy office can be seen from every room downstairs. But the biggest distraction was how unfriendly one of the owners was toward us. On several occasions we walked passed her without a smile, hello, or any acknowlegement whatsoever. One morning I asked her if she had found a small souvenier my wife lost and she directed me to where it was without getting up or even looking up from the tv while appearing very put off. We stay in B&Bs all the time for several reasons one being because of the friendly and interesting owner we enjoy meeting. This one unfortunately did not have that atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoythouse_innkeeper, Owner at Hoyt House Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
We are sorry we did not exceed your expectations. We have only two coffee makers one on each floor for the convenience for our guests so they don't have to walk down stairs for early morning or anytime coffee. The port a potty was from a large wedding we had previously and our guests actually commented on it being a convenient idea. I am sorry you didn't get a warm a fuzzy from me. I am usually the funny one.

Best,

Deborah & Myrta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband & I recently had the need for a weekend get away and we chose the Hoyt House in Fernandina Beach and we could not have chosen more wisely. We were greeted with a warm welcome and given a full tour of the home & facilities before being shown to our room. Our room had a tray of freshly baked, homemade cookies (to die for!), fresh fruit and bottled water waiting for us. The owners, Myrta & Deborah, left a handwritten note to personally welcome us and let us know they were at our service for whatever we needed. Their pool / hot tub facility in back was beautifully done and a lovely place to spend a relaxing afternoon. You could even have drinks brought out to you from the bar if you so desired. Breakfast was another treat and definitely not for those counting calories. Unlike most B&B's with a set breakfast menu, here you were offered a menu with several selections and each table got 2 freshly baked sticky buns along with their meal. The Hoyt House boasts having their own bar just for their guests & each afternoon they hosted a cocktail hour for their guests which included free wine or beer and hors d'oeuvres and there was always fresh coffee or tea available via Keurig machine. If you desired something stronger that beer or wine, that was available for a charge. Myrta & Deborah bent over backwards to be helpful & accommodating to all their guests. The only drawback I could see to this B&B was it was on a busy street corner but their service and atmosphere certainly goes a long way to make up for that less than desirable location. We'd definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the house are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoythouse_innkeeper, Owner at Hoyt House Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Loved having you guys stay with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review. Being in the heart of the Historic District where you can walk to everything including all the shops, antique stores, 47 restaurants, bars & nightlife it all comes down to LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION! We look forward to seeing you soon at The Hoyt House.

Best,

Deborah & Myrta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hoyt House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoyt House Inn

Address: 804 Atlantic Avenue, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoyt House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, Intimate, Luxurious Bed & Breakfast that will exceed your expectations with five star amenities, three course gourmet made to order choice breakfast, heated pool & spa for your relaxing pleasure. Enjoy complimentary bicycles to ride to the beach or tour the Historic District, complimentary off street parking, luxury robes and body wraps, and complimentary cocktail hour. Our English Pub Amelia Lounge is serving our special Hoytie Toytie Martini with Dragon Fruit Vodka. Come home to The Hoyt House where you will re-learn how to relax again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hoyt House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoyt House Inn Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoyt House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.