We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fried shrimp I've ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kelley's Courtyard Cafe - CLOSED

Kelley's Courtyard Cafe
19 South 3rd St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
904-432-8213
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best fried shrimp I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Kelley's served me the best fried shrimp I've ever had. My girlfriend and I stumbled across Kelley's last Saturday night while wandering around downtown. We were seated outside in a leafy courtyard that felt nicely secluded and intimate. I ordered the fried-shrimp-and-oyster platter, and my girlfriend had the shrimp po'boy. We were both blown away by the taste and quality of the shrimp----lightly battered, huge and fresh. According to our extremely pleasant and informative waitress, Kelley's only serves shrimp caught by local shrimpers----never frozen. I've vacationed in Fernandina for more than 30 years, and every time I'm here I always eat a boatload of fried shrimp. Kelley's are the best I've ever had.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    119
    41
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Down home, great food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We had a fabulous time, our waitress Laura was super, especially loved the crab cakes and fresh hummus. Fish was very fresh. Laura treated us like family and couldn't have been more attentive. The only downer was it was a rainy night so we were inside stuck next to a screaming (seriously screaming-like needed to be taken outside) kid who was so obnoxious. Can't wait to return and sit outside (hopefully next to no screaming kid) and p.s. We had 3 with us so we get -but know when to remove the screamer!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My kind of place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I don't normally go out to eat alone but walking into Kelley's courtyard I was welcomed with a smile, and never felt alone throughout lunch! Everyone was small town friendly and so fun. My shrimp po boy was so good I want another!! My next visit can't be soon enough! Great place

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Local Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I live at Fernandina Beach and eat out frequently. Kelley's Courtyard is one of my favorite local restaurants. The food is good and, the service is very friendly. One of the things I like most about the restaurant is the seasoning seems to always be perfect and the vegetables are always fresh. Staff mention the specials of the day and are accommodating regarding changes in the event you would prefer something be left out.

When I go there I frequently eat their wraps and salads always leaving room for a Blueberry dessert which is a family specialty. All in all I think this is one of the best restaurants at Fernandina. Looking back on the number of times I have been there only one complaint and that was it was full and I had to wait. Oh well the secret is out.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Local Seafood Always Tastes the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

So excited to find out that this little downtown gem serves locally caught shrimp & fish. It was well prepared by their talented Chef Mike. We loved our Shrimp Po' Boy & Mahi Sandwich. The side of Black Beans & Rice were the best I've ever had! Will definitely be visiting this resturant again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kelley's Courtyard Cafe also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelley's Courtyard Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.