We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Beach - Great Service - Well Maintained Property!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Amelia Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Amelia Island to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Amelia Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2301 Sadler Road, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Season's Greetings
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Close to Beach - Great Service - Well Maintained Property!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights last summer. It was my first time staying at a Residence Inn and this property gave a very favorable impression. For starters, the property is pristine throughout--both the common areas and the individual rooms. We stayed in a King efficiency suite. It was spacious, had a well stocked kitchen area, and comfortable bedding.

The property is about as convenient to the beach as you can get without being Beachfront. You literally turn left out of the parking lot and walk straight for 5 minutes to get to the ocean. I got up early each morning for walks along the beach and was always there in 5 minutes or less.

We had initially booked 3 nights, and when I went to inquire about the possibility of extending our stay, I was made aware that they were having a special: Stay 3 nights and get the 4th night free. With this unexpected cost savings we were able to extend from 3 nights to 5.

The business district of Amelia Island with stores, theater, chain restaurants, etc are only a 5-10 minute drive from the hotel.

The hotel has a front porch with big rocking chairs on it. My husband and I enjoyed sitting in the rockers in the evening and enjoying the breeze coming in from the ocean.

The daily breakfast buffet, was changed each day we were there. The area was very clean, and there was a good variety of food selections. They had 1-2 staff members in the area who would assist in any way needed (i.e. making your waffle for you).

Overall, I loved everything about this hotel. The staff, the service, the property, convenience to the ocean, peaceful atmosphere. It's not a luxury hotel, but is has the feel of one.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    122
    31
    8
    5
See reviews for
286
408
29
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Nice clean hotel. From the time I checked in until the time I left I was pleased. The front desk personnel were very accommodating. The manager's hospitality night was great. There was nothing negative that I experienced. I would no doubt stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I LOVED everything about this place! We arrived just in time for the Saturday afternoon complimentary cook-out. Which was a nice treat. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The pool area is well kept and the pool and whirlpool are clean. The breakfast is tasty with a nice variety of hot and cold items.All employees are courteous and professional. We love Fernandina/Amelia Island, and this nice hotel just makes us all the more anxious for a return visit!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We chose this hotel after reading many reviews on TripAdvisor. We were originally planning to stay at the RtizCarlton but the reviews were surprisingly negative and after placing my own phone call to the front desk, it appeared the negative comments were warranted. We called the Residence Inn and from that first phone call until check out we dealt with kind, efficient staff members that made it their priority to insure out stay was enjoyable. Our family of five enjoyed the pool, quick walk to the beach and surrounding restaurants and activities. We were in need of a relaxing beach getaway and that is exactly what we got. Our three kids made many friends and it definitely seemed as though the friendliness of the staff rubbed off on the guests. Everyone we came across seemed to be having as good a time as our family. The breakfast was hot and fresh, the Wednesday evening barbecue was fun and tasty. The pool was well tended to and crystal clear as was the whirlpool. The deck area with fire-pit was enjoyable and added to the pleasant and relaxing ambiance. I can't say enough about the cleanliness of this property from the details of our suite to the debris-free parking lot, there was much attention to detail and the location was great. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had just come from a Marriott Courtyard in Charleston which was much nicer. Seperate john and sink area was very small. If you don't have children it was very noisy in the breakfast room and at the pool. Location was good and staff was friendly.

Room Tip: We asked for a room away from the elevator and got one right near one. Check it out before you unpac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIAmeliaIsland, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Amelia Island, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel. I am glad to see that you enjoyed our central location on the island and your experience with our staff was a good one. The breakfast area can be bustling in the mornings - many guests find that our Tides Terrace is a nice quiet area to enjoy breakfast, or behind the fireplace inside. Also, although I can't be sure which suite type you were in, you might try our One-Bedroom Deluxe suite next time, as their vanity and bathroom areas are larger.

Thank you so much for staying with us. If you find yourself in the area again in the future, we'd love the opportunity to earn those other two stars from you.

Safe travels,
Bob Hartman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here.This hotel is so clean and centrally located to everything in the area.My room was clean the breakfast was fresh and plentiful the staff were friendly and professional and the walk to the beach was easy .I will definitely be back:)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

From the moment we arrived at this hotel, we knew we’d made an excellent choice. We were made to feel really welcome by the front desk staff who, by the next morning, were addressing us by name! The location was very good, just a few minutes’ walk to the sandy beach. Our fifth floor suite was really nice with an extremely comfortable bed, a separate sitting area, & a fully equipped kitchen. An extensive selection of foods was available at breakfast with a variety of cold choices, & hot choices that were different each day of our three-night stay. One evening a Burgers & Hot Dogs Manager’s Reception was held where an amazing selection of food & drinks was available for guests at no charge. We didn't need to go out for dinner that evening! On our last morning we enjoyed a lovely walk on the Egan’s Creek Greenway, which can be accessed from the hotel's car park, where we saw lots of birds, butterflies, dragonflies, turtles, alligators, snakes, etc. A really nice way to end our three-week holiday. We hope that we will return to Amelia Island one day &, if so, we’ll definitely come back to this Residence Inn!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Amelia Island

Address: 2301 Sadler Road, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Amelia Island 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Amelia Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
Residence Inn By Marriott Amelia Island Fernandina Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Amelia Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.