We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms with kitchen, value for the price, ok location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Amelia Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Amelia Island to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Amelia Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2301 Sadler Road, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mistletoe Wishes
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Charlotte, North Carolina, USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Large rooms with kitchen, value for the price, ok location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

The rooms are large but nothing fancy. For +/- $100 a night it is a good value but I would not pay much more. They offer a "full" breakfast but when we tried to take advantage of this two different mornings, the breakfast room was so packed that we could not get close to the food areas. They offer a free shuttle to old town - great service. This is needed because there are only a couple of restaurants within a reasonable walking distance of the hotel. The beach is about a block away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIAmeliaIsland, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Amelia Island, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel.

I'm happy to see that our accommodations met your needs. It did get pretty busy over Thanksgiving week - I apologize that you weren't able to fix a breakfast plate! If you stay with us again and it's that busy, we are happy to reserve a plate for you and have it ready for you so that you can enjoy our complimentary breakfasts.

You touched upon possibly my favorite amenity - our free island shuttle. It's a great way to get around, especially because of our shuttle drivers and how knowledgeable they are about the area.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have you again soon!
Safe travels,
Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    122
    31
    8
    5
See reviews for
286
408
29
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grant, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Residence Inn to enjoy Amelia Island. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They upgraded our room at no additional cost and when my husband told them it was my birthday they delivered wine and chocolate to our room. :)
The housekeeping staff was exceptionally helpful and courteous as well and the room was very clean and comfortable. The mattress was a bit firm for my taste but that was not a huge issue.
A BBQ dinner was provided on the first night and a full breakfast was served each morning.
The exercise room has top notch equipment and we were also delighted to find that there is a nice walking/bike trail right outside the back gate.
We would definitely recommend this hotel to other travelers!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIAmeliaIsland, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Amelia Island, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel!

We're so honored that you and your husband chose to stay with us during your birthday getaway! I know our staff was glad to send up chocolates and wine to help celebrate. It sounds like you really took advantage of many of our best amenities, and I always love to see that!

So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we'll see you next time!
Safe travels,
Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Recently we visited the Residence Inn on Fernandina and it was a wonderful experience, Not only were the accommodations excellent, but the staff made us feel like "family". Kudos to the management and particularly to Charlene and Dottie who made sure we were well taken care of.

Looking forward to returning in the near future..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIAmeliaIsland, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Amelia Island, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel! I am so glad to see that you had a great time, and I passed your compliments to Charlene and Dottie at our team huddle the other day!

Thanks again and we'll see you next time!
Safe travels,
Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

During my recent stay on Amelia Island for a business conference, we stayed at this location. The staff was courteous and service was great. In the evening there was a "chili cook-off" with music and refreshments. Breakfasts here were the real deal. No plastic eggs. One morning had custom omelets, there were always waffles, scrambled eggs, toast, bagels, fruit, cereal, bacon, oatmeal, etc. if you walked away hungry it was your own fault. The rooms were very comfortable. One note. It was windy during our stay as a front was coming through. The windows need some real attention. Air leaks and seals did not work as they should have. Other than that we had an excellent visit. I'd stay there again anytime.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIAmeliaIsland, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Amelia Island, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking a moment to review! I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed the Chili Cook-off! I know I did, and I competed in the chili pepper eating contest! Whoo I don't know if I'd recommend that in the future though haha. It was a great time for sure though, and benefitting the American Cancer Society.

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to have you back soon.
Safe travels,
Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I stayed one night for a business trip. I drove from South FL so I ended up arriving at 2am. The front desk was open, the check in was quick and easy. I didn't get to have breakfast in the morning but it was included. The internet was included and very fast, no code was needed except for the room number. The rooms were very big fully equipped with a kitchen, a living room, a small dinning table and a bed. The bathroom was really clean and the toiletries were good quality including Paul Mitchell shampoo. There was iced water infused with limes at the entrance as well as a delicious seasonal apple cider at all times. The check out was super fast and the staff incredibly friendly.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIAmeliaIsland, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Amelia Island, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel! I'm so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay, and happy that you were able to recharge during your business trip. I have grown to love the infused water so much that I've started making it at home! So refreshing.

Safe travels, and we'll see you next time!
Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I can not say enough about after spending 4 days at this great hotel .Every where you walk the staff was so upbeat and friendly and you talk about helpful,"wow" they would make sure you had a smile on your face and go the extra mile to insure that your stay was a 5 stars stay. I would like to add a special complement to Donna the manager of the house keepers. Special is what we thought about her, she has a warm southern charm and funny side about about made running into each day a real pleasure. If your looking for a great place to lay your head down, then I would highly recommend this hotel. Your surrounded by shops, fine dinning and great bars.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that over looks the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIAmeliaIsland, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Amelia Island, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your glowing review of our hotel! We have a truly great staff here and I will pass along your compliments!

Safe travels, and hope to see you again soon,
Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

My family and I stayed here last weekend while the Florida/Georgia game was happening. We were actually here for my cousin's wedding. I attend Texas A&M University and enjoyed the conversations we had with other guests and staff about our maroon t shirts! The hotel staff is wonderful, personable, happy, and welcoming! Everyone is willing to go out of their way to make your stay pleasurable. The rooms are huge and lovely. We really enjoyed our time and next time we are in Amelia Island, we will be staying there!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIAmeliaIsland, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Amelia Island, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel! Florida/Georgia is an exciting weekend for the island and Jacksonville - and to have a wedding going on as well, wow!

We hope to have you again soon, and safe travels,
Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Amelia Island

Address: 2301 Sadler Road, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Amelia Island 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Amelia Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
Residence Inn By Marriott Amelia Island Fernandina Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Amelia Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.