We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view, the value, all in a home like setting.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pelicans on Amelia Island

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fernandina Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Pelicans on Amelia Island
Save
You added The Pelicans on Amelia Island to your Saves list
3460 South Fletcher, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034   |  
Hotel amenities
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The view, the value, all in a home like setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Amelia Island has been a part of my life for ten plus years. After my first visit to the island, we were hooked. My family has been visiting the island 1-3 times a year since we discovered the benefits of the island. About five years ago, we discovered the Pelicans. Why do we love the Pelicans?? The view from the condo and patio is jaw-droppingly fabulous; the pool is beachside, so you feel like you are getting to enjoy some benefits of being at the ocean while at the pool (I don't like roadside pools.); the value is fabulous for a place to stay with a kitchen and a washer/dryer in unit; the location is central to all of the various activities on the island; parking is underground and secure; and the managers (Simon and Mandy) are so helpful in helping you to have the vacation you would like. Others have complained that the managers were inaccessible. I have never found that in all of my visits. I am always able to reach them when I need them. Otherwise, they stay behind-the-scenes. Now, others have mentioned that the condos are in poor repair. Actually, I have found that since each condo is privately owned, there is some difference in upgrades between units. Mandy encourages owners to update their condo regularly, but each owner has the final say. Mandy knows each condo so well that she can help you in picking the perfect condo for your situation. (For example, you may want to be on the bottom floor; or if you have a new walker, you may want less tile and more rugs/carpet in unit; if you have kids you may want a condo that supplies a bucket of kid's toys; if you are from out-of-state, you may not want to lug your beach supplies, so you may want to rent a unit that allows you use of the condo's beach supplies. Mandy can help with all of those things...Now, if you want to stay at a resort condo and pay resort prices (and deal w more "crowds"), you should stay somewhere else. If you want a good value and a wonderful experience, call Mandy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
Couples
0
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This place is a really nice place for a getaway. It's right on the beach. The managers are friendly and accommodating. We had a spacious 3 bedroom with double balcony. The price was very reasonable. We would definitely go back to the Pelicans on our next stay in Amelia.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Condo owners should provide resort accomodations if they want resort rates for these condos. Pelicans were nice when they first opened - no renovations since the 80'. Perhaps the owners who never visit their condos don't know if the cheap towels are getting ragged or if the kitchen has proper utensils....other than hodge podge dishes and not very many of them!
The Pelicans for the most part are just plain run down.....That's a real shame but seems condo owners are only interested in making money and have long since cared about the people who pay good money for mediocre accomodations. The view from ocean front condos is great, however.
Maybe the Pelicans will get that much needed face lift. There are other ocean accomodations on Amelia Island that are waaay nicer than the Pelicans - and for the same money!!

Room Tip: Ask to see the condo first if possible - also we heard kids running and talking late late at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrison, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Excellent staff and excellent condo. Amelia Island is by far the best place my family has come to vacation in all the years we have vacationed the beaches of the Gulf Coast and the Atlantic. If you want to enjoy the beach as a family where beaches are not crowded and streets are not rowdy, this is the place for you. Sea shells everywhere and beautiful white sand mixed with a lot of American History. Trust me, you will love it here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

There is no place like Fernandina Beach & the place to stay is The Pelicans. Not only right on this pristine, beautiful beach but the management is terrific! Love this Island and as soon as I leave I miss it! Always looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

We have stayed at the Pelicans for the past several years for the Georgia vs Florida game, and it has been very enjoyable and relaxing after a long Saturday of tailgating and cheering for our Dawgs. We like the Pelicans because it is near the restaurants and shops of Fernandina, a quaint little historic town. The management also seems to keep the wild rif raf out which adds to the peaceful and relaxing experience. We'll definitely be back!
GO DAWGS!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

We visited for 10 days and had a wonderful and relaxing holiday! The property is right on the ocean and has an easy access boardwalk that takes you over the dunes to the water. Some of the units are ocean front and some are ocean view...ours was ocean view and we were able to enjoy the long days with the southern facing condo. The unit was spacious, clean and well supplied with all the modern conveniences (dishwasher, DVD, stereo, washer & dryer). The managers, Gloria and Walter, were always helpful with any questions we had and live on the property. The pool area was relaxing with palm trees and manicured lawns all around....giving a real 'resort feel'. On the hot days, it was nice having the car parked under the building as it kept our car nice and cool!! Amelia Island is a beautiful place and staying at the Pelicans made it even better!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pelicans on Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelicans on Amelia Island

Address: 3460 South Fletcher, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Fernandina Beach
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the delights of nature, wonder of history, and the relaxation of island living when you stay at the oceanfront condominiums of The Pelicans, located in Fernandina Beach, FL on beautiful Amelia Island.The property features a heated outdoor swimming pool, tennis court, underground parking garage, and lovely grounds leading to the beach boardwalk. The Pelicans can be your perfect island home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Pelicans On Amelia Island Fernandina Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pelicans on Amelia Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.