We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Civil war and fishing weir” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Clinch State Park

Fort Clinch State Park
2601 Atlantic Ave., Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
904-277-7274
Website
Improve this listing
Type: State Parks, Historic Sites, Military Bases/ Facilities, Parks
Activities: Camping, Hiking, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This state park preserves Florida's history.
Canandaigua
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Civil war and fishing weir”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I took 5 13 year old Girl Scouts to Fort Clinch. If you haven't been to the Fort itself for a few years, I suggest a revisit. A lot of work has been done making the interiors authentic, and if you get the re-enactor we did, your visit will be extremely fun and interesting. The attention of 5 13 yo girls was held for over 90 minutes right before lunchtime! That is a feat itself!
Then we had lunch near the Fort on the beach and found sharks teeth, and before we left, went to the pier and walked to the end!
I was not aware that there are bikes to rent on site! Next time we'll try that!
All in all, a successful day!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    265
    34
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Beach and camping.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was one of the nicest beaches I've seen in Florida. It was clean and not crowded at all. The fort was a great half day tour and you can rent bikes there and make a day of it, but get there early they sell out quickly.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Interesting and facilities adequate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Camping available with electric and water, also primitive camping available. Fishing pier was excellent even though I did most of my fishing just in front of the fort for flounder. Nature trails, bike trails and picnic areas abound. An interesting state park visit and well worth the time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Bay, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Another fun Fort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have visited many Civil War forts through the south and this one is no different. It's a nice way to get a feel for the hardships our soldiers endured during this era The reenactors on site are a hoot and will chat with you as though you are a visitor from 1864! They rarely break character. Highly recommend a stop here while in Fernandina Beach.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wow, cool Fort, guys stay in character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Family loved this, we thought we would just take a quick look and got so into it we stayed 1.5 hours. Not easily accessible with a knee walker.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Clinch State Park also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Fort Clinch State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Clinch State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fort Clinch State Park to your Saves list