We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location..very comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Addison on Amelia Island

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fernandina Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Addison on Amelia Island
Save
You added The Addison on Amelia Island to your Saves list
614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
GreenLeadersBronze level
Southport, North Carolina
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great location..very comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is was our second visit to the Addison...what a great find. Start your day with a breakfast the is not only delicious but will hold you over until dinner. Very comfortable Inn with great hosts. Within walking distance to all the venues in Fernandina Beach.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    18
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
567
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our romantic weekend getaway at The Addison Inn on Amelia Island. Our room was gorgeous with the Christmas décor. The whole house was clean and had remarkable Christmas décor throughout. We really love the fact that we were the only ones there. The Addison Inn had everything you may need from drinks, DVD’s, and snacks. Shannon went over and beyond getting down a recipe for me to have for breakfast. Bob played his part into it and did an outstanding job as well. The small things like that really touch my heart to know Shannon is compassionate about her guests. We would definitely come back each year because of that.

Room Tip: We had Room #3
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was our third trip to the Addison in the last 12 months. We stayed here the same weekend last year to R&R after the holidays, and again in June to celebrate my husband's birthday.I could not think of a better place to come and be pampered. We arrived just in time for the great happy hour in the parlor. It is a wonderful time to meet the other guests and enjoy a glass of wine or beer; great conversations & lots of laughs. Bob & Shannon, as always, are warm & inviting. Fabulous breakfasts both mornings. Shannon tried a new recipe of fresh pineapple tart and it was awesome! There is always fresh coffee and cookies. Shannon decorated the parlor, bedrooms, and dining area just beautifully for the holidays! We stayed on the first floor; room was immaculate and bed was comfortable. This is the BEST B&B we have ever stayed at. We will definitely be back!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Ours was a last-minute New Year trip. Though we planned in haste, it was obvious our Addison on Amelia hosts invest much time and thought into everything at this lovely B&B. The breakfasts were delicious and creative; our room was attractive, comfortable and quiet; bath amenities were nice. Other than the soggy weather (for which we don't hold our host accountable!) we wouldn't change a thing!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We spent two nights at "The Addison" and had a fantastic time. The rooms are very comfy, the courtyard is beautiful, and the location is great. The Addison staff provided some of the best service that we've ever had at a B&B. Breakfast was amazing and the happy hour from 5-6 was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The best Bed and Breakfast i have ever stayed!! Great owners, great food! and great hospitality.
The even offer bicycles to go around town. Amazing.
I would recommended with my eyes closed! The town of Amelia is a great place to go
Thank you Addison owners for such a great experience!

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We (three couples) went to this Bed and Breakfast because one couple had enjoyed it so much in April when they were there. At first everything was super! The rooms were lovely, the holiday decor fabulous, the food delicious and the hospitality at first was as gracious as could be. Then, on our second night we were informed that we could not sit in the iving room and visit because other people were sleeping. We went to our rooms and turned in for the night. It was 9:30 PM. Last night, New Year's Eve, we were going to play a quiet card game in the dining room and the host Bob, said we could not because other people were asleep. This at 9:00 PM on New Year's Eve!

Comes to pass this morning when a member of our group spoke with Shannon, his wife, that there is a policy of no congregating in the common rooms after 10:00 PM. If this is their policy, why isn't it indicated on their website or in their brochure? We would have never booked there with three couples who wanted to spend time together had we known that we could not use the common facilities after dinner to play a quiet game or visit.

A great place to visit when you are travelling alone and want to go to sleep early.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STidball, Owner at The Addison on Amelia Island, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for all of the positive comments in your review. It is good to hear that we are hitting the mark on so many aspects of our inn.

We have two guest rooms on the main floor of the main house, one on each side of the dining room. As a courtesy to guests in those rooms we do try to keep activity in the common areas to a minimum between 10PM and 8AM. We occasionally get groups travelling together who want to use the dining room for afternoon card games we are happy to clear space for them, as we did for you.

Two days later: We just received this note from another of our New Years guests and thought it was a nice addition to this response….

Just read the TripAdvisor review from the 3 couples unhappy about having their evening visits cut short at 9PM. As another Addison guest at the same time, "Thank you!" That group of 6 was quite loud when gathered together. Loud folks and a B&B are a poor match. My husband and I were in Fernandina Beach for a peaceful get-away after having 11 houseguests over the holidays. We sincerely appreciate your thoughtfulness for ALL your guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Addison on Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Addison on Amelia Island

Address: 614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Addison on Amelia Island, a romantic Bed and Breakfast Inn nestled in a historic seaside village in Northern Florida. Three antebellum style buildings surround a central courtyard containing a three-tier fountain, lush gardens and winding brick pathways. The verandah, the social center of the inn, overlooks the courtyard. This is where you enjoy a delicious breakfast that is prepared and served by your innkeepers each morning and where you can join us for a glass of wine and appetizers while making new friends at the afternoon Happy Hour. Fourteen guest rooms seamlessly blend the elegance of a bygone era with the modern amenities, services and conveniences that today’s discriminating traveler expects. Each guest room has a private bath, some with oversized jetted tubs, with thirsty Turkish cotton towels and Green bath amenities. Luxurious bed linens, lots of large down-filled pillows and comfortable mattresses provide a good night’s sleep so that you awake refreshed and ready to enjoy your day. All guest rooms are air conditioned and free WiFi is available throughout the property. Complimentary bicycles and beach gear, including towels, chairs and umbrellas, are available for our guest’s use while exploring our beautiful island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Addison On Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
The Addison On Amelia Island Fernandina Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Addison on Amelia Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.